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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 
Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 
regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 
to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 
any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 
consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 
Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 
emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 
regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 
law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 
days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 
more than 12 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 
months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 
Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 
(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
28:2 VA.R. 47-141 September 26, 2011, refers to Volume 28, Issue 2, 
pages 47 through 141 of the Virginia Register issued on  
September 26, 2011. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 
Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 
McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; E.M. Miller, Jr.; Thomas M. 
Moncure, Jr.; Wesley G. Russell, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. 
Tavenner; Patricia L. West; J. Jasen Eige or Jeffrey S. Palmore. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2012 through April 2013 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

28:18 April 18, 2012 May 7, 2012 

28:19 May 2, 2012 May 21, 2012 

28:20 May 16, 2012 June 4, 2012 

28:21 May 30, 2012 June 18, 2012 

28:22 June 13, 2012 July 2, 2012 

28:23 June 27, 2012 July 16, 2012 

28:24 July 11, 2012 July 30, 2012 

28:25 July 25, 2012 August 13, 2012 

28:26 August 8, 2012 August 27, 2012 

29:1 August 22, 2012 September 10, 2012 

29:2 September 5, 2012 September 24, 2012 

29:3 September 19, 2012 October 8, 2012 

29:4 October 3, 2012 October 22, 2012 

29:5 October 17, 2012 November 5, 2012 

29:6 October 31, 2012 November 19, 2012 

29:7 November 13, 2012 (Tuesday) December 3, 2012 

29:8 November 28, 2012 December 17, 2012 

29:9 December 11, 2012 (Tuesday) December 31, 2012 

29:10 December 26, 2012 January 14, 2013 

29:11 January 9, 2013 January 28, 2013 

29:12 January 23, 2013 February 11, 2013 

29:13 February 6, 2013 February 25, 2013 

29:14 February 20, 2013 March 11, 2013 

29:150 March 6, 2013 March 25, 2013 

29:16 March 20, 2013 April 8, 2013 

29:17 April 3, 2013 April 22, 2013 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 



PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-3300 and 54.1-3400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Louis M. Kaufman. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC110-20-680 
C that requires that a medical equipment supplier must 
receive a valid order from a practitioner prior to dispensing, 
which has been interpreted to mean that the specific medical 
equipment supplier must receive the order at the MES 
location from which the product is being dispensed. The 
amendment would allow the transfer of a prescription 
received at one MES to another MES location. 

Agency Decision: Denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: While the board decided 
not to initiate rulemaking at this time, it has issued a guidance 
document (110-19) interpreting the law and regulations to 
allow for a transfer of a valid order between one medical 
equipment supplier and another, provided certain procedures 
are followed. At the next periodic review of regulations, the 
board will consider adding the provisions of the guidance 
document into regulation. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-17; Filed April 12, 2012, 10:10 a.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-3700 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Sarah Carter. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations for 
licensure by endorsement to allow social workers from other 
jurisdictions to provide "verification of active practice in 
another jurisdiction for 36 out of the past 60 months"; or 
verification of active practice in another jurisdiction for 
36 months at any time, plus verification that the applicant has 

completed 30 contact hours of continuing education in the 
12 months preceding the application for licensure. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 
Virginia law, the petition was filed with the Register of 
Regulations and will be published on May 7, 2012, with a 
request for comment to be received until June 1, 2012. The 
petition is also be posted for comment on the Virginia 
Regulatory Townhall at www.townhall.virginia.gov. At the 
next meeting held after the close of the comment period, 
scheduled for July 20, 2012, the Board of Social Work will 
consider the petition and any comment received to decide 
whether or not to initiate the rulemaking process. Should the 
board decide to respond by initiating regulatory action, the 
regulatory process typically takes at least 24 months to 
complete. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 1, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, 
telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-21; Filed April 12, 2012, 9:54 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, MOLD, 
AND HOME INSPECTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors intends to consider 
amending 18VAC15-30, Virginia Lead-Based Paint 
Activities Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is 
to adjust licensing fees for regulants of the Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors. The board must 
establish fees adequate to support the costs of the board's 
operations and a proportionate share of the department's 
operations. By the close of the next biennium, fees will not 
provide adequate revenue for those costs. The Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors has no other 
source of revenue from which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 6, 2012. 

Agency Contact: David Dick, Executive Director, Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 527-4297, or email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3181; Filed April 16, 2012, 3:20 p.m.  

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, 
Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors intends to consider 
amending 18VAC15-40, Certified Home Inspectors 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to adjust 
licensing fees for regulants of the Board for Asbestos, Lead, 
Mold, and Home Inspectors. The board must establish fees 
adequate to support the costs of the board's operations and a 
proportionate share of the department's operations. By the 
close of the next biennium, fees will not provide adequate 
revenue for those costs. The Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, 
and Home Inspectors has no other source of revenue from 
which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 6, 2012. 

Agency Contact: David Dick, Executive Director, Virginia 
Board for Asbestos, Lead, Mold, and Home Inspectors, 9960 
Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 
(804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 527-4297, or email 
asbestos@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3182; Filed April 16, 2012, 3:21 p.m.  

BOARD FOR GEOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 
the Code of Virginia that the Board for Geology intends to 
consider amending 18VAC70-20, Rules and Regulations 
for the Virginia Board for Geology. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to adjust licensing fees for regulants of the 
Board for Geology. The board must establish fees adequate to 
support the costs of the board's operations and a proportionate 
share of the department's operations. By the close of the next 
biennium, fees will not provide adequate revenue for the 
operational costs. The Board for Geology has no other source 
of revenue from which to fund its operations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 6, 2012. 

Agency Contact: David Dick, Executive Director, Board for 
Geology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 367-8588, FAX (804) 527-4297, or 
email geology@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3180; Filed April 16, 2012, 3:20 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-70. Absentee Voting (adding 
1VAC20-70-10, 1VAC20-70-40, 1VAC20-70-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: April 18, 2012.  

On January 12, 2011, the State Board of Elections adopted 
this regulation restating Board policies relating to absentee 
voting. The final regulation was published February 14, 2011, 
Volume 27, Issue 12 of the Virginia Register of Regulations 
(27:12 VA.R. 1271 February 14, 2011) with an effective date 
upon filing a notice of the United States Attorney General's 
preclearance with the Registrar of Regulations. The State 
Board of Elections hereby notices its determination in 
consultation with the Office of Attorney General that this 
regulation restating existing policies is not a change in voting 
practices requiring preclearance. The effective date of this 
regulation is April 18, 2012. Copies are available online at 
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=5782&
display=documents; by telephone toll-free 1-800-552-9745 or 
local (804) 864-8910; by written request to FOIA 
Coordinator, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219; or by 
email request to foia@sbe.virginia.gov. 

Agency Contact: Martha Brissette, Policy Analyst, State 
Board of Elections, 1100 Bank St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-8925, FAX (804) 786-0760, or email 
martha.brissette@sbe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2686; Filed April 18, 2012, 1:56 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Conservation 
and Recreation is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Department of 
Conservation and Recreation will receive, consider, and 
respond to petitions from any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC5-30. Virginia State Parks 
Regulations (repealing 4VAC5-30-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: May 7, 2012.  

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy and Planning 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Background: 4VAC5-30-200 stipulates that "No person 
except employees, police officers, or officers of the 
department shall carry or possess firearms of any description, 
or airguns, within the park. This regulation shall not apply in 
areas designated for hunting by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation. This regulation also shall not 
apply to the carrying of concealed handguns within state 
parks by holders of a valid concealed handgun permit issued 
pursuant to § 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia."  

The stated authority for the regulation is found in § 10.1-104 
A 4 of the Code of Virginia where the department has broad 
authority to prescribe rules and regulations necessary or 
incidental to the performance of duties or execution of powers 
conferred by law. However, it is the lack of specific statutory 
authority to regulate firearms upon which amendments to this 
regulation have been directed and are now repealed.   

4VAC5-30-200 is part of the Virginia Administrative Code 
(VAC) and has been part of the VAC or department 
regulations since at least 1965 and likely since the State Park 
System was created in 1936. This regulation originally 
prohibited all carrying of firearms by anyone other than 
police officers, other employees of the department, or those 
engaged in approved hunting activities, but was amended in 
2002 to permit the carrying of concealed handguns by those 
in possession of a valid concealed handgun permit. In 
response to a September 9, 2002, opinion from Attorney 
General Kilgore (Opinion 02-074) to Delegate Richard H. 
Black that found that the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation exceeded its statutory authority in prohibiting the 
carrying of concealed handguns by holders of valid permits, 
Governor Warner by letter on September 23, 2002, instructed 
the department to amend the regulation in accordance with 
the opinion. The Attorney General's Office further found that 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=5782&display=documents
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/viewstage.cfm?stageid=5782&display=documents
mailto:foia@sbe.virginia.gov
mailto:martha.brissette@sbe.virginia.gov


Regulations 

the department could amend the regulation as an exempt 
action pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia. 
The amendments were effective February 12, 2003 (Virginia 
Register Volume 19, Issue 9, June 2, 2003).  

On September 26, 2008, then Attorney General McDonnell 
(Opinion 08-043) issued an opinion to then Senator Kenneth 
T. Cuccinelli, II that found that the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation has only such authority to 
restrict the open carrying of firearms that is expressly 
provided by law. The opinion stated that "I find no specific 
statutory authority granting the Department the authority to 
prohibit the open carrying of firearms in state parks. A 
person's right to carry a firearm openly is considered 
universal within the Commonwealth, subject to definite and 
limited restrictions upon certain locations and classifications 
of individuals. Section 18.2-287.4 is the only statute that 
specifically addresses carrying of firearms in public parks. In 
the context of parks and public spaces, the General Assembly 
merely limits certain classifications of firearms and not 
firearms generally. Under accepted rules of statutory 
construction, the mention of one thing in a statute implies the 
exclusion of another. Further, the Department's enabling 
legislation does not specifically authorize a prohibition 
against the open carry of firearms."   

The opinion further stated that "[i]n light of the General 
Assembly's explicit statements regarding limitations on 
carrying and possessing firearms, the Department may not 
infer such authority from its enabling legislation and prohibit 
the carrying of firearms not otherwise prohibited within state 
parks. It is within the sole discretion of the General Assembly 
to limit the carrying of firearms in parks beyond that 
restricted by § 18.2-287.4. Additionally, the General 
Assembly could grant explicit statutory authority to the 
Department to accomplish such purpose. I find no authority, 
express or implied, for the Department to prohibit the 
carrying and possession of firearms within state parks beyond 
that currently prohibited by law." 

On January 14, 2011, Governor McDonnell issued a letter to 
the Director of the Department of Conservation and 
Recreation. In the letter, the Governor noted that "I have 
reviewed the opinion I provided in September of 2008 as 
Attorney General to then Senator Ken T. Cuccinelli, II 
regarding the authority of the Department of Conservation 
and Recreation to issue a regulation prohibiting the open 
carrying of firearms in State Parks. In summary, the opinion 
states that because the General Assembly enacted § 18.2-
287.4 of the Code of Virginia, it had no intention of further 
restricting the carrying of firearms in public parks. I am not 
aware of any legislative action since the issuance of that 
opinion which would change the conclusion reached therein. 
Lacking specific legislative authorization to further regulate 
firearms, the Department of Conservation and Recreation 
cannot promulgate a regulation that does so. Therefore, I am 
directing the Department of Conservation and Recreation to 

cease enforcement of 4VAC5-30-200. The Department 
should notify all state park officials immediately of this 
change. Further, I am directing that 4VAC5-30-200 be 
repealed through an exempt Administrative Process Act 
regulatory action to bring it into conformity with this opinion 
and law." 

Summary: 

This regulatory action repeals 4VAC5-30-200, Firearms, 
of the Virginia State Parks Regulations.  

4VAC5-30-200. Firearms. (Repealed.)  

No person except employees, police officers, or officers of 
the department shall carry or possess firearms of any 
description, or airguns, within the park. This regulation shall 
not apply in areas designated for hunting by the Department 
of Conservation and Recreation. This regulation also shall not 
apply to the carrying of concealed handguns within state 
parks by holders of a valid concealed handgun permit issued 
pursuant to § 18.2-308 of the Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3167; Filed April 7, 2012, 1:11 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 
Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 
board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 
conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 
following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 
advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 
including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 
development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-
4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 
proposed general permit. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-120. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
Regulation for Discharges from Petroleum Contaminated 
Sites, Groundwater Remediation and Hydrostatic Tests 
(amending 9VAC25-120-10, 9VAC25-120-20, 9VAC25-
120-50, 9VAC25-120-60, 9VAC25-120-70, 9VAC25-120-
80; adding 9VAC25-120-15).  
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Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 
124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2012 - 1:30 p.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: July 6, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Burton Tuxford, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4086, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email burton.tuxford@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System (VPDES) Permit Regulation for Discharges from 
Petroleum Contaminated Sites, Ground Water 
Remediation, and Hydrostatic Tests has existed since 1992. 
This general permit contains effluent limitations, 
monitoring requirements, and special conditions for 
discharges of petroleum-contaminated wastewater, 
chlorinated hydrocarbon contaminated wastewater, and 
wastewater from hydrostatic tests. The proposed changes 
to the regulation will make this general permit similar to 
other general permits issued recently and clarify and 
update permit limits and conditions. 

The proposed substantive changes (i) add coverage under 
the permit for hydrostatic tests of water storage tanks and 
pipelines; (ii) add two reasons why a facility's discharge 
would not be eligible for coverage under the permit; (iii) 
add language to allow for administrative continuance of 
coverage under the general permit; (iv) add a provision 
that allows specified short term projects (14 days or less in 
duration) and hydrostatic test discharges to be 
automatically covered under the permit without the 
requirement to submit a registration statement, and 
require that the owner notify the department within 14 
days of the discharge's completion; (v) consolidate the 
permit Part I A Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 
Requirements for "Gasoline Contaminated Discharges" 
into one limits table, and discharges "Contaminated by 
Petroleum Products Other Than Gasoline" into one limits 
table; recalculate the effluent limits in the combined tables 
to be at the most protective levels for the discharge type 
and to protect all receiving waters based on an analysis of 
water quality criteria, toxicity data, and best professional 
judgment; and (vi) add permit special conditions for: (a) 
required number of significant digits for reporting 
monitoring results, (b) controlling discharges as necessary 
to meet water quality standards, responsibility to comply 
with any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation, (c) requirement to submit discharge monitoring 
reports to the owner of the municipal storm sewer system 

(MS4) if they discharge to the MS4, and (d) requirement to 
implement measures and controls consistent with a TMDL 
requirement when the facility is subject to an approved 
TMDL. 

9VAC25-120-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 
9VAC25-31 (VPDES permit regulation) unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of 
this chapter: 

"Central wastewater treatment facilities" means any facility 
that treats (for disposal, recycling, or recovery of materials) or 
recycles hazardous or nonhazardous waste, hazardous or 
nonhazardous industrial wastewater, or used material from 
offsite. This includes both a facility that treats waste received 
from off-site exclusively, and a facility that treats waste 
generated on-site as well as waste received from off site. 

"Chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents" means solvents 
containing carbon, hydrogen, and chlorine atoms and the 
constituents resulting from the degradation of these 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative.  

"Petroleum products" means petroleum-based substances 
comprised of a complex blend of hydrocarbons derived from 
crude oil such as motor fuels, jet fuels, distillate fuel oils, 
residual fuel oils, lubricants, petroleum solvents and used 
oils. "Petroleum products" does not include hazardous waste 
as defined by the Virginia Hazardous Waste Regulations 
(9VAC20-60). 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 
waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  

9VAC25-120-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted 
herein and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be 
as it exists and has been published as a final regulation in the 
Federal Register prior to July 1, 2012, with the effective date 
as published in the Federal Register notice or February 26, 
2013, whichever is later.  
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9VAC25-120-20. Purpose. 

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 
wastewaters from sites contaminated by petroleum products, 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, and the hydrostatic testing 
of petroleum and natural gas storage tanks and pipelines, and 
the hydrostatic testing of water storage tanks and pipelines. 
These wastewaters may be discharged from the following 
activities: excavation dewatering, purging groundwater 
monitoring wells, conducting aquifer tests to characterize site 
conditions, hydrostatic tests of natural gas and petroleum 
storage tanks or pipelines, hydrostatic tests of underground 
and above ground storage tanks, pumping contaminated 
groundwater to remove free product from the ground, or 
discharges resulting from another petroleum product or 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvent cleanup activity approved by 
the department board, hydrostatic tests of natural gas and 
petroleum storage tanks or pipelines, hydrostatic tests of 
underground and above ground storage tanks, and hydrostatic 
tests of water storage tanks and pipelines. Discharges not 
associated with petroleum-contaminated water, water 
contaminated by chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents, or 
hydrostatic tests are not covered under this general permit. 

9VAC25-120-50. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on February 26, 
2008 2013. This general permit will expire five years from 
the effective date on February 25, 2018. This general permit 
is effective as to any covered owner upon compliance with all 
the provisions of 9VAC25-120-60 and the receipt of this 
general permit. 

9VAC25-120-60. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 
authorized to discharge to surface waters within the 
Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the:  

1. The owner files and receives acceptance by the board of 
the submits a registration statement of, if required to do so, 
in accordance with 9VAC25-120-70, and that registration 
statement is accepted by the board;  

2. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 
limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-120-80,; 
and provided that: 

3. The board has not notified the owner that the discharge 
is not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection 
B of this section.  

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 
any of the following:  

1. Individual permit. The owner has not been is required to 
obtain an individual permit according to in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-170 B of the VPDES Permit Regulation;  

2. Prohibited discharge locations. The owner shall not be 
authorized by this general permit is proposing to discharge 
within five miles upstream of a public water supply intake 
or to state waters specifically named in other board 
regulations or policies which prohibit such discharges; and 

3. Central wastewater treatment facilities. The owner shall 
not be authorized by this general permit is proposing to 
discharge to surface waters where there are permitted 
central wastewater treatment facilities reasonably 
available, as determined by the board;  

4. The discharge violates or would violate the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30; or  

5. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 
requirements of an approved TMDL.  

B. Receipt of C. Compliance with this general permit 
constitutes compliance with the federal Clean Water Act, the 
State Water Control Law, and applicable regulations under 
either with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the 
VPDES Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under this 
general permit does not relieve any owner of the 
responsibility to comply with any other appropriate 
applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 
regulation. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
petroleum contaminated sites, groundwater remediation, 
and hydrostatic tests general permit issued in 2008 and that 
submits a complete registration statement on or before 
February 26, 2013, is authorized to continue to discharge 
under the terms of the 2008 general permit until such time 
as the board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 
or  

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 
permit that has been continued;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
amended general permit. If the general permit coverage 
is denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 
discharges authorized by the continued general permit or 
be subject to enforcement action for discharging without 
a permit;  
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c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 
or  

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-120-70. Registration statement. 

The owner shall file a complete VPDES general permit 
registration statement for discharges from petroleum 
contaminated sites, ground water remediation, and hydrostatic 
tests. Any owner proposing a new discharge shall file a 
complete registration statement at least 30 days prior to the 
date planned for commencing operation of the new discharge. 
Any owner of an existing discharge covered by an individual 
VPDES permit who is proposing to be covered by this 
general permit shall file the registration statement at least 180 
days prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 
permit. Any owner of an existing discharge not currently 
covered by a VPDES permit who is proposing to be covered 
by this general permit shall file a complete registration 
statement. The required registration statement shall contain 
the following information:  

A. Any owner seeking coverage under this general permit 
who is required to submit a registration statement shall 
submit a complete VPDES general permit registration 
statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve 
as a notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES 
permit for discharges from petroleum contaminated sites, 
ground water remediation, and hydrostatic tests.  

B. Owners of the following types of proposed or existing 
discharges are not required to submit a registration statement 
to apply for coverage under this general permit:  

1. Short term projects (14 days or less in duration) 
including:  

a. Emergency repairs;  

b. Dewatering projects;  

c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known 
contamination;  

d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known 
contamination;  

e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and  

f. New well construction discharges of groundwater;  

2. Hydrostatic testing of petroleum and natural gas storage 
tanks and pipelines; and  

3. Hydrostatic testing of water storage tanks and pipelines.  

Owners of these types of discharges are authorized to 
discharge under this permit immediately upon the permit's 
effective date of February 26, 2013.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in 
writing within 14 days of the completion of the discharge. 
The notification shall include the owner's name and address, 
the type of discharge that occurred, the physical location of 
the discharge work, and the receiving stream. If the discharge 
is to a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4), the 
owner shall also notify the MS4 owner within 14 days of the 
completion of the discharge.  

Owners of these types of discharges are not required to 
submit a notice of termination at the completion of the 
discharge.  

C. Deadlines for submitting registration statements.  

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 
days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 
the new discharge, unless exempted by subsection B of this 
section.  

2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 
who is proposing to be covered by this general permit 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 
210 days prior to the expiration date of the individual 
VPDES permit.  

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
petroleum contaminated sites, ground water remediation, 
and hydrostatic tests general VPDES permit that became 
effective on February 26, 2008, who is not exempted 
under subsection A of this section and who intends to 
continue coverage under this general permit shall submit 
a complete registration statement to the board on or 
before January 27, 2013.  

D. Late registration statements. Late registration statements 
will be accepted, but authorization to discharge will not be 
retroactive. Owners described in subdivision C 2 b of this 
section that submit late registration statements are authorized 
to discharge under the provisions of 9VAC25-120-60 D if a 
complete registration statement is submitted on or before 
February 26, 2013.  

E. The required registration statement shall contain the 
following information:  

1. Legal name of facility;  

2. Location of facility, address, and telephone number, and 
email address (if available);  

3. Facility owner name, address, and telephone number, 
and email address (if available);  

4. Nature of business conducted at the facility;  

5. Type of petroleum or natural gas products, or 
chlorinated hydrocarbon solvents causing or that caused 
the contamination;  
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6. Identification of activities that will result in a point 
source discharge from the contaminated site;  

7. Whether a site characterization report for the site has 
been submitted to the Department of Environmental 
Quality;  

8. Characterization or description of the wastewater or 
nature of contamination including analytical data; 

9. The location of the discharge point and identification of 
the waterbody into which the discharge will occur. For 
linear projects, the location of all the proposed discharge 
points along the project length and the associated 
waterbody for each discharge point;  

10. The frequency with which the discharge will occur 
(i.e., daily, monthly, continuously);  

11. An estimate of how long each discharge will last;  

12. An estimate of the total volume of wastewater to be 
discharged;  

13. An estimate of the flow rate of the discharge;  

14. A diagram of the proposed wastewater treatment 
system identifying the individual treatment units;  

15. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or other 
equivalent computer generated map that indicates the 
receiving waterbody name or names, the discharge point or 
points, the property boundaries, as well as springs, other 
surface waterbodies, drinking water wells, and public 
water supplies that are identified in the public record or are 
otherwise known to the applicant within a 1/2 mile radius 
of the proposed discharge or discharges.; 

16. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 
separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 
MS4 owner. The owner of the facility shall notify the MS4 
owner in writing of the existence of the discharge within 
30 days of coverage under the general permit and shall 
copy the DEQ regional office with the notification. The 
notification shall include the following information: the 
name of the facility, a contact person and phone number, 
the location of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, 
and the facility's VPDES general permit number;  

17. Whether central wastewater facilities are available to 
the site, and if so, whether the option of discharging to the 
central wastewater facility has been evaluated and the 
results of that evaluation;  

17. 18. Whether the facility currently has a permit issued 
by the board, and if so, the permit number;  

18. 19. Any applicable pollution complaint number;  

19. 20. A statement as to whether the material being treated 
or discharged is certified as a hazardous waste under the 
Virginia Hazardous Waste Regulation (9VAC20-60); and 

20. 21. The following certification: 

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is to the best of 
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations. I do also 
hereby grant duly authorized agents of the Department of 
Environmental Quality, upon presentation of credentials, 
permission to enter the property for the purpose of 
determining the suitability of the general permit. 

F. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110.  

9VAC25-120-80. General permit. 

Any owner whose request for coverage under this general 
permit registration statement is accepted by the board, or who 
is automatically authorized to discharge under this permit, 
shall comply with the requirements of the general permit and 
be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170 B of the 
VPDES permit regulation. Not all pages of Part I A of the 
general permit will apply to every permittee. The 
determination of which pages apply will be based on the type 
of contamination at the individual site and the nature of the 
waters receiving the discharge. Part I B and all pages of Part 
II apply to all permittees. 

General Permit No.: VAG83  
Effective Date: February 26, 2008 2013  

Expiration Date: February 25, 2013 2018  

GENERAL VPDES PERMIT FOR DISCHARGES FROM 
PETROLEUM CONTAMINATED SITES, 
GROUNDWATER REMEDIATION, AND 

HYDROSTATIC TESTS 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 
VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM PERMIT PROGRAM AND THE VIRGINIA 
STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, 
as amended, the State Water Control Law and regulations 
adopted pursuant thereto, the owner is authorized to discharge 
to surface waters at the locations identified in the accepted 
registration statement within the boundaries of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia, except to designated public 
water supplies or waters specifically named in other board 
regulations or policies which prohibit such discharges.  
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The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this 
cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 
Requirements and Part II - Conditions Applicable to All 
VPDES Permits, as set forth herein. 

If there is any conflict between the requirements of a 
Department of Environmental Quality board approved 
cleanup plan and this permit, the requirements of this permit 
shall govern.  

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

1. SHORT TERM PROJECTS.  

The following types of short term projects (14 days or less in duration) are authorized under this permit:  

a. Emergency repairs;  

b. Dewatering projects(1);  

c. Utility work and repairs in areas of known contamination;  

d. Tank placement or removal in areas of known contamination;  

e. Pilot studies or pilot tests, including aquifer tests; and  

f. New well construction discharges of groundwater.  

Effluent limits for short term projects correspond to the type of contamination at the project site and are given in Tables A 2 
through A 5 below. The sampling frequency for these projects shall be once per project term. Discharge monitoring reports 
for these projects are not required to be submitted to the department, but shall be retained by the owner for a period of at 
least three years from the completion date of the project.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in writing within 14 days of the completion of the project discharge. The 
notification shall include the owner's name and address, the type of discharge that occurred, the physical location of the 
project work, and the receiving stream. If the discharge is to a municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4), the owner shall 
also notify the MS4 owner within 14 days of the completion of the discharge.  
(1)Dewatering projects shall be managed to ensure that they are discharging to an adequate channel or pipe and do not cause 
erosion in the receiving stream.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

1. 2. GASOLINE CONTAMINATION -- FRESHWATER RECEIVING WATERS NOT LISTED AS PUBLIC WATER 
SUPPLIES ALL RECEIVING WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to freshwater receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number XXXX. 
Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: 
outfall from the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum 

Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NA NL 1/Month (4) Estimate 

Benzene (μg/l)(1) NA 50.0 12.0 1/Month (4) Grab 

Toluene (μg/l)(1) NA 175.0 43.0 1/Month (4) Grab 

Ethylbenzene (μg/l)(1) NA 320.0 4.3 1/Month (4) Grab 

Total Xylenes (μg/l)(1) NA 33.0 1/Month (4) Grab 
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MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 1,840.0 1/Month  Grab 

 Freshwaters not listed as public 
water supplies and saltwater 

NA 440.0 1/Month(4) Grab 

 Freshwaters listed as public 
water supply 

NA 15.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/Month (4) Grab 

Total Recoverable Lead (μg/l)(2) NA e(1.273(ln hardness)) -

3.259  
1/Month Grab 

 Freshwaters not listed as public 
water supplies and saltwater 

NA e(1.273(ln hardness)) -

3.259  

(4) Grab 

 Freshwaters listed as public 
water supply 

NA Lower of e(1.273(ln 

hardness)) -3.259 or 15 

(4) Grab 

Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)
(2) NL NA 1/Month (4) Grab 

Ethylene Dibromide (μg/l)(2) NA 5.3 1/Month Grab 

 Freshwaters not listed as public 
water supplies and saltwater 

NA 1.9 1/Month(4) Grab 

 Freshwaters listed as public 
water supply 

NA 0.161 2/Month(4) Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (μg/l)(2) NA 990.0 3.8 1/Month (4) Grab 

Ethanol (μg/l)(3) NA 4100.0 1/Month (4) Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)Benzene, Toluene, Ethylbenzene, Total Xylenes and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA 
Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136, 2007) (40 CFR Part 136) or EPA SW 846 Method 8021B (1996). 
(2)Monitoring for this parameter is required only when contamination results from leaded fuel. Lead shall be analyzed 
according to a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136, 2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 9040C 
(2004) (40 CFR Part 136). The minimum hardness concentration that will be used to determine the lead effluent limit is 25 
mg/l. 1,2 dichloroethane and EDB shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method or EPA Wastewater 
Method from 40 CFR Part 136 (2007). 
(3)Monitoring for ethanol is only required for discharges of water contaminated by gasoline containing greater than 10% 
ethanol. Ethanol shall be analyzed according to EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 8260B (1996). 
Monitoring frequency shall be 1/month in the first year of permit coverage. If the first year results demonstrate full 
compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced from 
monthly to 1/quarter. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate regional office for review. Upon written notification 
from the DEQ regional office, monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 1/quarter. Should the permittee be issued a warning 
letter related to violation of effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, 
monitoring frequency for ethanol shall revert to 1/month, upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation of the enforcement 
action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ 
regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October and January. 
(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be once per 
month. If the first year results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 
monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced from monthly to 1/quarter. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate 
DEQ regional office for review. Upon written notification from the regional office, monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 
1/quarter. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a notice of violation, or 
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be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency for ethanol shall revert to 1/month upon issuance of the 
letter or notice or initiation of the enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of 
quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and 
January.  

The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for all 
constituents or parameters. If the first year's results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee 
may request that the monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced to 1/quarter and the other parameters to 1/month. The 
written request shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ regional office for review. Upon written notification from the regional 
office, the monitoring frequency for ethanol shall be reduced to 1/quarter and the other parameters to1/month. Should the 
permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations or a notice of violation, or be the subject of an 
active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation of 
the enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be 
submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and January.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

2. GASOLINE CONTAMINATION -- FRESHWATER RECEIVING WATERS LISTED AS PUBLIC WATER 
SUPPLIES.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to freshwater receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples 
taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum 

Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NA NL 2/Month4 Estimate 

Benzene (μg/l)1 NA 12.0 2/Month4 Grab 

Toluene (μg/l)1 NA 175.0 2/Month4 Grab 

Ethylbenzene (μg/l)1 NA 320.0 2/Month4 Grab 

Total Xylenes (μg/l)1 NA 33.0 2/Month4 Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 
(μg/l)1 

NA 15.0 2/Month4 Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 2/Month4 Grab 

Total Recoverable Lead (μg/l)2 NA Lower of e(1.273(ln 

hardness)) -3.259 or 15 
2/Month4 Grab 

Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)
2 NL NL 2/Month4 Grab 

Ethylene Dibromide (μg/l)2 NA .169 2/Month4 Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (μg/l)2 NA 3.8 2/Month4 Grab 

Ethanol (μg/l)3 NA 4100.0 2/Month5 Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
1Benzene, Toluene, Ethylbenzene, Total Xylenes and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA 
Method (40 CFR Part 136, 2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 8021B (1996). 
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2Monitoring for this parameter is required only when contamination results from leaded fuel. Lead shall be analyzed 
according to a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136, 2007). The minimum hardness 
concentration that will be used to determine the lead effluent limit is 25 mg/l. EPA SW 846 Method 8011 (1992) or EPA 
Drinking Water Method 504.1 (1995) shall be used to analyze ethylene dibromide (EDB) in wastewaters discharged to public 
water supplies. 1,2 dichloroethane shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method or EPA Wastewater 
Method from 40 CFR Part 136 (2007). 
3Monitoring for ethanol is only required for discharges of water contaminated by gasoline containing greater than 10% 
ethanol. Ethanol shall be analyzed according to EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 8260B (1996). 
4Monitoring frequency shall be 2/month for the first year of permit coverage. If the first year results demonstrate full 
compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency be reduced from 2/month to 
1/month. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate regional office for review. Upon written notification from the 
DEQ regional office, monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter 
related to violation of effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring 
frequency shall revert to 2/month, upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation of the enforcement action and remain in 
effect until the permit's expiration date.  
5If the first year results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the 
monitoring frequency for ethanol be reduced from 2/month to 1/quarter. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate 
regional office for review. Upon written notification from the DEQ regional office, monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 
1/quarter. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or 
be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month, upon issuance of the letter or 
notice or initiation of the enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly 
monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, October, and January.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

3. CONTAMINATION BY PETROLEUM PRODUCTS OTHER THAN GASOLINE -- FRESHWATER RECEIVING 
WATERS NOT LISTED AS PUBLIC WATER SUPPLIES ALL RECEIVING WATERS.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to freshwater receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples 
taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum 

Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NA NL 1/Month (4) Estimate 

Naphthalene (μg/l)(1) NA 10.0 8.9 1/Month (4) Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons 
(mg/l)(2) 

NA 15.0 1/Month (4) Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/Month (4) Grab 

Benzene (μg/l)(3) NA 12.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 
(μg/l)(3) 

NA 15.0 2/Month(4) Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
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(1)Naphthalene shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136 (2007) or a 
current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method. 
(2)TPH shall be analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for diesel range organics, or by EPA SW 846 Method 
8270D (2007). If Method 8270D (2007) is used, the lab must report the total of diesel range organics and polynuclear 
aromatic hydrocarbons. 
(3)Monitoring for benzene and MTBE is only required for discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies. Benzene 
and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136) or EPA SW 
846 Method. 
(4)The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters not listed as public water supplies and saltwater shall be once per 
month. 

The monitoring frequency for discharges into freshwaters listed as public water supplies shall be twice per month for all 
constituents or parameters. If the first year's results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee 
may request that the monitoring frequency be reduced to once per month. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate 
DEQ regional office for review. Upon written notification from the regional office, the monitoring frequency for ethanol shall 
be reduced to 1/quarter or the other parameters to1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation 
of effluent limitations or a notice of violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall 
revert to 2/month upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation of the enforcement action and remain in effect until the 
permit's expiration date. 

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

4. CONTAMINATION BY PETROLEUM PRODUCTS OTHER THAN GASOLINE -- FRESHWATER RECEIVING 
WATERS LISTED AS PUBLIC WATER SUPPLIES.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to freshwater receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples 
taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum  

Instantaneous 
Maximum  

Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NA NL 2/Month4 Estimate 

Naphthalene (μg/l)1 NA 10.0 2/Month4 Grab 

Benzene (μg/l)2 NA 12.0 2/Month4 Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether)(μg/l)2 NA 15.0 2/Month4 Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (mg/l)3 NA 15.0 2/Month4 Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 2/Month4 Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
1Naphthalene shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136 (2007) or a 
current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method. 
2Benzene and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method (40 CFR Part 136, 
2007) or EPA SW 846 Method. 
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3TPH shall be analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for diesel range organics, or by EPA SW 846 Method 
8270D (2007). If Method 8270D is used, the lab must report the total of diesel range organics and polynuclear aromatic 
hydrocarbons. 
4Monitoring frequency shall be 2/month for the first year of permit coverage. If the first year results demonstrate full 
compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency be reduced from 2/month to 
1/month. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate regional office for review. Upon written notification from the 
DEQ regional office, monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter 
related to violation of effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring 
frequency shall revert to 2/month, upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation of the enforcement action and remain in 
effect until the permit's expiration date.  

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS  

5. 4. DISCHARGES OF HYDROSTATIC TEST WATERS -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 
compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: Outfall from the final 
treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS(2) 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum 

Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NA NL 1/discharge Estimate 

pH (standard units)  6.0 9.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons 
(TPH, mg/l) (1) 

NA 15.0 1/discharge Grab 

Total Organic Carbon (TOC, mg/l) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine (TRC, mg/l)  NA 0.011 1/discharge Grab 

Total Suspended Solids (TSS) NA NL 1/discharge Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 

The equipment being tested shall be substantially free of debris, raw material, product, or other residual materials.  

The discharge flow shall be controlled in such a manner that prevents flooding, erosion, or excessive sediment influx into the 
receiving water body.  
(1)TPH is the sum of individual gasoline range organics and diesel range organics or TPH-GRO and TPH-DRO to be 
measured by EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for gasoline and diesel range organics, or by EPA SW 846 Methods 8260B 
(1996) and 8270D (2007). If the combination of Methods 8260B and 8270D is used, the lab must report the total of gasoline 
range organics, diesel range organics and polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons . 
(2)Discharge monitoring reports for hydrostatic test discharges are not required to be submitted to the department, but shall be 
retained by the owner for a period of at least three years from the completion date of the hydrostatic test.  

Owners shall notify the department's regional office in writing within 14 days of the completion of the hydrostatic test 
discharge. The notification shall include the owner's name and address, the type of hydrostatic test that occurred, the physical 
location of the test work, and the receiving stream.  
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Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

6. GASOLINE CONTAMINATION -- SALTWATER RECEIVING WATERS.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to saltwater receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples 
taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum 

Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NA NL 1/Month Estimate 

Benzene (μg/l)1 NA 50.0 1/Month Grab 

Toluene (μg/l)1 NA 500.0 1/Month Grab 

Ethylbenzene (μg/l)1 NA 4.3 1/Month Grab 

Total Xylenes (μg/l)1 NA 74.0 1/Month Grab 

MTBE (methyl tert-butyl ether) 
(μg/l)1 

NA 440.0 1/Month Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/Month Grab 

Total Recoverable Lead (μg/l)2 NA 8.5 1/Month Grab 

Ethylene Dibromide (μg/l)2 NA 5.3 1/Month Grab 

1,2 Dichloroethane (μg/l)2 NA 990.0 1/Month Grab 

Ethanol (μg/l)3 NA 4100.0 1/Month3 Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
1Benzene, Toluene, Ethylbenzene, Total Xylenes and MTBE shall be analyzed according to a current and appropriate EPA 
Wastewater Method 602 (40 CFR Part 136, 2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 8021B (1996). 
2Monitoring for this parameter is required only when contamination results from leaded fuel. Lead shall be analyzed 
according to a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method 200.8 or 200.9 (40 CFR Part 136, 2007) or EPA SW 846 
Method 7010 (2007). 1,2 dichloroethane and EDB (surface waters that are not public water supplies) should be analyzed by a 
current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method or EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136 (2007). 
3Monitoring for ethanol is only required for discharges of water contaminated by gasoline containing greater than 10% 
ethanol. Ethanol shall be analyzed according to EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) or EPA SW 846 Method 8260B (1996). 
Monitoring frequency shall be 1/month in the first year of permit coverage. If the first year results demonstrate full 
compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request that the monitoring frequency be reduced from monthly to 
1/quarter. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate regional office for review. Upon written notification from the 
DEQ regional office, monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 1/quarter. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter 
related to violation of effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring 
frequency shall revert to 1/month, upon issuance of the letter or notice or initiation of the enforcement action and remain in 
effect until the permit's expiration date. Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later 
than the 10th day of April, July, October and January. 
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Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

7. CONTAMINATION BY PETROLEUM PRODUCTS OTHER THAN GASOLINE -- SALTWATER RECEIVING 
WATERS.  

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to saltwater receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples 
taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from 
the final treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters.  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum 

Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) NA NL 1/Month Estimate 

Naphthalene (μg/l)1 NA 8.9 1/Month Grab 

Total Petroleum Hydrocarbons (mg/l)2 NA 15.0 1/Month Grab 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/Month Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
1Naphthalene shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate EPA Wastewater Method from 40 CFR Part 136 (2007) or a 
current and appropriate EPA SW 846 Method. 
2TPH shall be analyzed using EPA SW 846 Method 8015C (2007) for diesel range organics or EPA SW 846 Method 8270D. 
If Method 8270D (2007) is used, the lab must report the total of diesel range organics and polynuclear aromatic 
hydrocarbons. 

Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

8. 5. CONTAMINATION BY CHLORINATED HYDROCARBON SOLVENTS -- ALL RECEIVING WATERS. 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 
date, the permittee is authorized to discharge to receiving waterbodies from outfall serial number xxxx. Samples taken in 
compliance with the monitoring requirements specified below shall be taken at the following location: outfall from the final 
treatment unit prior to mixing with any other waters. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS Instantaneous 
Minimum 

Instantaneous 
Maximum 

Frequency Sample Type 

1/Month Estimate Flow (MGD) NA NL 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Estimate 

1/Month Grab Chloroform (CAS # 67663), (μg/l)(1) NA 100.0 80.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 
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1/Month Grab 1,1 Dichloroethane (CAS # 75343) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 4.0 2.4 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab 1,2 Dichloroethane (CAS # 107062) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.8 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab 1,1 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 75354) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 7.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab cis-1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 
159592) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 70.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab trans 1,2 Dichloroethylene (CAS # 
156605) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 100.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab Methylene Chloride (CAS # 75092) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab Tetrachloroethylene (CAS # 127184) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab 1,1,1 Trichloroethane (CAS # 71556) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 112.0 54.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab 1,1,2 Trichloroethane (CAS # 79005) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab Trichloroethylene (CAS # 79016) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab Vinyl Chloride (CAS # 75014) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab Carbon Tetrachloride (CAS # 56235) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 2.5 2.3 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab 1,2 Dichlorobenzene (CAS # 95501) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 15.8 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 
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1/Month Grab Chlorobenzene (CAS # 108907) 
(μg/l)(1) 

NA 3.0 3.4 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab Trichlorofluoromethane (CAS # 
75694) (μg/l)(1) 

NA 5.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab Chloroethane (CAS # 75003) (μg/l)(1) NA 3.6 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

1/Month Grab pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 

2/Month if public 
water supply(2) 

Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)This constituent shall be analyzed by a current and appropriate gas chromatograph/mass spectroscopy method from EPA 
SW 846 or the EPA Wastewater Method series from 40 CFR Part 136 (2007). 
(2)Monitoring frequency for discharges into surface waters listed as public water supplies shall be 2/month for the first year of 
permit coverage. If the first year results demonstrate full compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request 
that the monitoring frequency be reduced from 2/month to 1/month. The written request shall be sent to the appropriate DEQ 
regional office for review. Upon written notification from the DEQ regional office, monitoring frequency shall be reduced to 
1/month. Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to violation of effluent limitations, or a notice of violation, or 
be the subject of an active enforcement action, monitoring frequency shall revert to 2/month, upon issuance of the letter or 
notice or initiation of the enforcement action and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. 

Part I  

B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts.  

2. The permittee shall sample each permitted outfall each 
calendar month in which a discharge occurs. When no 
discharge occurs from an outfall during a calendar month, 
the discharge monitoring report for that outfall shall be 
submitted indicating "No Discharge."  

3. O & M Manual. If the permitted discharge is through a 
treatment works, within 30 days of coverage under this 
general permit, the permittee shall develop and maintain on 
site, an Operations and Maintenance (O & M) Manual for 
the treatment works permitted herein. This manual shall 
detail practices and procedures which will be followed to 
ensure compliance with the requirements of this permit. 
The permittee shall operate the treatment works in 
accordance with the O & M Manual. The manual shall be 
made available to the department upon request.  

4. Operation schedule. The permittee shall construct, install 
and begin operating the treatment works described in the 
registration statement prior to discharging to surface 
waters. The permittee shall notify the department's regional 

office within five days after the completion of installation 
and commencement of operation.  

5. Materials storage. Except as expressly authorized by this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, no product, 
materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes resulting from 
the purchase, sale, mining, extraction, transport, 
preparation, or storage of raw or intermediate materials, 
final product, by-product or wastes, shall be handled, 
disposed of, or stored so as to permit a discharge of such 
product, materials, industrial wastes, or other wastes to 
state waters.  

6. If the permittee discharges to surface waters through a 
municipal separate storm sewer system, the permittee shall, 
within 30 days of coverage under this general permit, 
notify the owner of the municipal separate storm sewer 
system in writing of the existence of the discharge and 
provide the following information: the name and location 
of the facility, a contact person and telephone phone 
number;, the location of the discharge, the nature of the 
discharge;, and the number of outfalls facility's VPDES 
general permit number. A copy of such notification shall 
be provided to the department. Discharge Monitoring 
Reports (DMRs) required to be submitted under this permit 
shall be submitted to both the department and the owner of 
the municipal separate storm sewer system.  
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7. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 
number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 
Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 
permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 
even number), the permittee shall use the convention 
consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 
employed by the permittee use the same convention.  

8. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 
standards.  

9. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 
not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 
any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation.  

10. Discharges to waters with an approved "total maximum 
daily load" (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are a source 
of the specified pollutant of concern to waters where an 
approved TMDL has been established shall implement 
measures and controls that are consistent with the 
assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  

11. Termination of coverage. Provided that the department 
board agrees that the discharge covered under this general 
permit is no longer needed, the permittee may request 
termination of coverage under the general permit, for the 
entire facility or for specific outfalls, by submitting a 
request for termination of coverage. This request for 
termination of coverage shall be sent to the department's 
regional office with appropriate documentation or 
references to documentation already in the department's 
possession. Upon the permittee's receipt of the regional 
director's approval, coverage under this general permit will 
be terminated. Termination of coverage under this general 
permit does not relieve the permittee of responsibilities 
under other board regulations or directives.  

Part II  
Conditions Applicable To All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or  

1VAC30-46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  

c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  

d. The individual or individuals who performed the 
analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation; copies of all 
reports required by this permit; and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  
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4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 
board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 
discharge on the quality of state waters or such other 
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 
of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also 
furnish to the department upon request copies of records 
required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 
such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 
recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F or 
who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part II F shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after the discovery. A written report of the 
unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 
within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 
report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 
report to writing and shall submit the report to the department 
within five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance 
with Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include 
but are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 
may endanger public health as follows:  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this subsection:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance including exact dates 
and times and, if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  

Volume 28, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 7, 2012 

1432 



Regulations 

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Part II G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone or by, 
FAX, or online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/ 
PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReportingForm.a
spx. For reports outside normal working hours, leave a 
message and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting 
requirement. For emergencies, the Virginia Department of 
Emergency Services maintains a 24-hour telephone service 
at 1-800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans an alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable 
to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 of the Act within 
120 days of their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 
are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 
permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 
approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-
president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit application requirements; and 
where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 
delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 
executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 
officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 
a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports. All reports required by permits, and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by a 
person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 
representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 
representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
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an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. A duly 
authorized representative thus may be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under 
Parts II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 
statement at least 180 30 days before the expiration date of 
the existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 

registration statements to be submitted later than the 
expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 
II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 
construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 
Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 
when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 
the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  
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U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to assure efficient operation. 
These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part II 
U 2 and 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed above in Part 
II U 3 a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology-based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 
claims that noncompliance was caused by upset and before 
an action for noncompliance is not a final administrative 
action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause or causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted or where records 
must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 
permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. Except as provided in Part II Y 2, 
a permit may be transferred by the permittee to a new 
owner or operator only if the permit has been modified or 
revoked and reissued, or a minor modification made, to 
identify the new permittee and incorporate such other 
requirements as may be necessary under the State Water 
Control Law and the Clean Water Act.  
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2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, this 
permit may be automatically transferred to a new permittee 
if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department at least 
within 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the 
title to the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not 
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 
the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
(9VAC25-120) 

Method Cite 
200.8 
200.9 
504.1 
7010 
8011 
8015C 
8021B 
8260B 
8270D 
9040C 

40 CFR 136 (2007) 
40 CFR 136 (2007) 
EPA 600/R-95-131 (1995) 
EPA SW 846 (2007) 
EPA SW 846 (1992) 
EPA SW 846 (2007) 
EPA SW 846 (1996) 
EPA SW 846 (1996) 
EPA SW 846 (2007) 
EPA SW 846 (2004) 

Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, 
Physical/Chemical Methods, EPA Publication SW-846, U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency, Third Edition as amended 
by Final Updates I, II, IIA, IIB, IIIA, IIIB, IVA, and IVB, 
National Technical Information Service (NTIS), 5285 Port 
Royal Road, Springfield, VA 22161, (703) 605-6000 or (800) 
553-6847, http://www.epa.gov/SW-846.  

Method 7010 (February 2007) 

Method 8011 (July 1992) 

Method 8015C (February 2007) 

Method 8021B (December 1996) 

Method 8260B (December 1996) 

Method 8270D (February 2007) 

Method 9040C (November 2004) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2774; Filed April 17, 2012, 9:04 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes 
regulations that consist only of changes in style or form or 
corrections of technical errors. The State Water Control 
Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 
or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-20. Fees for Permits and 
Certificates (amending 9VAC25-20-70). 

9VAC25-101. Tank Vessel Oil Discharge Contingency 
Plan and Financial Responsibility Regulation (amending 
9VAC25-101-40, 9VAC25-101-50). 

9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards (amending 
9VAC25-260-155). 

9VAC25-590. Petroleum Underground Storage Tank 
Financial Responsibility Requirements (amending 
9VAC25-590-220). 

9VAC25-650. Closure Plans and Demonstration of 
Financial Capability (amending 9VAC25-650-110, 
9VAC25-650-200).  

Statutory Authority: 

9VAC25-20: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.15:6 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

9VAC25-101: §§ 62.1-44.15, 62.1-44.34:16, and 62.1-
44.34:21 of the Code of Virginia.  

9VAC25-260: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-590: § 62.1-44.34:9 and § 62.1-44.34:12 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-650: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.18:3 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 6, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Debra A. Miller, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4206, FAX (804) 
698-4346, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 
debra.miller@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action updates the mailing address for the 
Department of Environmental Quality.  

9VAC25-20-70. Method of payment.  

A. Fees shall be paid by check, draft or postal money order 
payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, or submitted 
electronically (if available), and must be in U.S. currency, 
except that agencies and institutions of the Commonwealth of 
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Virginia may submit Interagency Transfers for the amount of 
the fee. All fees shall be sent to the following address (or 
submitted electronically, if available): Department of 
Environmental Quality, Receipts Control, P.O. Box 10150 
1105, Richmond, Virginia 23240 23218.  

B. Required information. All applicants for new permit 
issuance, permit reissuance or permit modification shall 
submit the following information along with the fee payment:  

1. Applicant name, address and daytime phone number.  

2. Applicant Federal Identification Number (FIN).  

3. The name of the facility/activity, and the facility/activity 
location.  

4. The type of permit applied for.  

5. Whether the application is for a new permit issuance, 
permit reissuance or permit modification.  

6. The amount of fee submitted.  

7. The existing permit number, if applicable.  

9VAC25-101-40. Board oil discharge contingency plan 
review and approval.  

A. Tank vessel oil discharge contingency plans shall provide 
for the use of the best available technology (economically 
feasible, proven effective and reliable and compatible with 
the safe operation of the vessel) at the time the plan is 
submitted for approval, be written in English, and, in order to 
be approvable, shall contain, at a minimum, the following 
information:  

1. The vessel name, country of registry, identification 
number, date of build and certificated route of the vessel.  

2. The names of the vessel operators including address and 
phone number.  

3. If applicable, name of local agent, address and phone 
number.  

4. A copy of the material safety data sheet (MSDS) or its 
equivalent for each oil, or groups of oil with similar 
characteristics, transported or transferred by the tank 
vessel. To be equivalent, the submission must contain the 
following:  

a. Generic or chemical name of the oil;  

b. Hazards involved in handling the oil; and  

c. A list of firefighting procedures and extinguishing 
agents effective with fires involving each oil or groups of 
oil demonstrating similar hazardous properties which 
require the same firefighting procedures.  

5. A complete listing, including 24-hour phone numbers, of 
all federal, state and local agencies required to be notified 
in event of a discharge.  

6. The position title of the individual(s) responsible for 
making the required notifications and a copy of the 
notification check-off list. The individual(s) must be fluent 
in English.  

7. The position title, address and phone number of the 
individual(s) authorized to act on behalf of the operator to 
implement containment and cleanup actions. The 
individual(s) must be fluent in English and shall be 
available on a 24-hour basis to ensure the appropriate 
containment and cleanup actions are initiated.  

8. The position title of the individual(s) designated by the 
operator to ensure compliance during containment and 
cleanup of a discharge, with applicable federal, state and 
local requirements for disposal of both solid and liquid 
wastes.  

9. A copy of the valid evidence of financial responsibility 
pursuant to 9VAC25-101-45.  

10. A complete description of the vessel including vessel 
drawings providing a complete view of the location of all 
cargo tanks as well as the location of fuels and other oils 
carried in bulk by the vessel.  

11. A complete description of each oil transfer system on 
the vessel, including:  

a. A line diagram of the vessel's oil transfer piping, 
including the location of each valve, pump, control 
device, vent, safety device and overflow;  

b. The location of the shutoff valve or other isolation 
device that separates any bilge or ballast system from the 
oil transfer system; and,  

c. The maximum pressure for each oil transfer system.  

12. Identification and ensurance1 by contract, or other 
means acceptable to the board, of the availability of private 
personnel and equipment necessary to remove to the 
maximum extent practicable the worst case discharge and 
to mitigate or prevent a substantial threat of such a 
discharge. This contract or agreement shall ensure a certain 
response within the shortest feasible time. The department 
will accept a letter of understanding between the operator 
and response contractors which attests to this capability 
being readily available. Membership in a cleanup 
cooperative or other response organization is also 
acceptable. A listing of contractor or cooperative 
capabilities, including an inventory of the equipment and 
specification of the other information required by 
subdivision 14 of this subsection shall be included unless 
these capabilities are already on file with the department.  

13. Assessment of the worst case discharge, including 
measures to limit the outflow of oil, response strategy and 
operational plan. For the purpose of this chapter, the worst 
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case discharge for a tank vessel is a discharge in adverse 
weather conditions of its entire cargo.  

14. Inventory of onboard containment equipment, 
including specification of quantity, type, location, time 
limits for gaining access to the equipment, and, if 
applicable, identification of tank vessel personnel trained 
in its use.  

15. If applicable, a copy of the United States Coast Guard 
approved oil transfer procedures and International Oil 
Pollution Prevention Certificate (IOPP).  

16. A description of training, equipment testing, and 
periodic unannounced oil discharge drills conducted by the 
operator to mitigate or prevent the discharge, or the 
substantial threat of a discharge.  

17. The tank vessel's cargo inventory control procedures. 
Tank vessel operators shall ensure that this control 
procedure is capable of providing for the detection of a 
discharge of oil within the shortest feasible time in 
accordance with recognized engineering practices and 
industry measurement standards.  

18. A post discharge review procedure to assess the 
discharge response in its entirety.  

B. All nonexempt tank vessel operators shall file with the 
department the Application for Approval of a Tank Vessel 
Contingency Plan form available from the department for 
approval of the contingency plan. This form identifies the 
tank vessel operator by name and address and provides 
information on the tank vessel or vessels and shall be 
submitted with the required contingency plan and shall be 
completed as far as it pertains to the tank vessel. The operator 
must sign and date the certification statement on the 
application form which certifies to the board that the 
information is true and accurate. If the operator is a 
corporation, the application form must be signed by an 
authorized corporate official; if the operator is a municipality, 
state, federal or other public agency, the application form 
must be signed by an authorized executive officer or ranking 
elected official; if the operator is a partnership or sole 
proprietorship, the application form must be signed by a 
general partner or the sole proprietor.  

C. Contingency plans must be filed with and approved by 
the board. A signed original shall be submitted to the 
department at the address specified in subsection F of this 
section. A copy of the original with the tank vessel specific 
information and the approval letter shall be retained on the 
tank vessel and shall be readily available for inspection. An 
operator of a tank vessel whose normal operating route does 
not include entry into state waters shall certify to the board, 
within 24 hours of entering state waters, that the operator has 
ensured by contract or other means acceptable to the board, 
the availability of personnel and equipment necessary to 
remove to the maximum extent practicable the worst case 

discharge and to mitigate or prevent the discharge or the 
substantial threat of a discharge. The operator shall submit a 
contingency plan to the board for approval in accordance with 
this chapter prior to the next entry of the tank vessel into state 
waters.  

D. An operator of multiple tank vessels may submit a single 
fleet contingency plan. The plan shall contain vessel specific 
information required by this section for each vessel. The 
vessel specific information shall be included in appendices to 
the plan. This plan shall be separate from any required facility 
contingency plan.  

E. Oil discharge contingency plans shall be reviewed, 
updated if necessary, and resubmitted to the board for 
approval every 60 months unless significant changes occur 
sooner. Operators must notify the department of significant 
changes and make appropriate amendments to the 
contingency plan within 30 days of the occurrence. For the 
purpose of this chapter, a significant change includes the 
following:  

1. A change of operator of the tank vessel or individual 
authorized to act on behalf of the operator;  

2. A substantial increase in the maximum storage or 
handling capacity of the tank vessel;  

3. A material decrease in the availability of private 
personnel or equipment necessary to remove to the 
maximum extent practicable the worst case discharge and 
to mitigate or prevent a substantial threat of such a 
discharge;  

4. A change in the type of product transported or 
transferred in or by any tank vessel covered by the plan for 
which a MSDS or its equivalent has not been submitted; or  

5. The addition of a tank vessel to a single fleet 
contingency plan provided this requirement can be met by 
submittal of a new or amended appendix to the plan.  

Renewals for expiring plans shall be submitted to the board 
for review and approval not less than 90 days prior to 
expiration of the current plan.  

F. All applications and written communications concerning 
changes, submissions and updates of plans required by this 
chapter, with the exception of applications and submissions 
accompanied by fees addressed in subsection J of this section, 
shall be addressed as follows:  

Mailing Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Spill Response and Remediation  
P.O. Box 10009 1105 
Richmond, VA 23240 23218 

Location Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Spill Response and Remediation  

Volume 28, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 7, 2012 

1438 



Regulations 

629 East Main Street  
Richmond, VA 23219  

All applications and submissions accompanied by fees as 
addressed in subsection J of this section shall be sent to the 
addressed listed in subdivision J 2.  

G. An oil discharge exercise may be required by the board to 
demonstrate the tank vessel's ability to implement the 
contingency plan. The department will consult with the 
operator of the vessel prior to initiating an exercise. Where 
appropriate, the department will ensure coordination with 
federal agencies prior to initiation of an exercise.  

H. The board may, after notice and opportunity for a 
conference pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, 
deny or modify its approval of an oil discharge contingency 
plan if it determines that:  

1. The plan as submitted fails to provide sufficient 
information for the department to process, review and 
evaluate the plan or fails to ensure the applicant can take 
such steps as are necessary to protect environmentally 
sensitive areas, to respond to the threat of a discharge, and 
to contain and cleanup an oil discharge within the shortest 
feasible time;  

2. A significant change has occurred in the operation of the 
tank vessel covered by the plan;  

3. The tank vessel's discharge experience or its inability to 
implement its plan in an oil spill discharge exercise 
demonstrates a necessity for modification; or  

4. There has been a significant change in the best available 
technology since the plan was approved.  

I. The board, after notice and opportunity for hearing, may 
revoke its approval of an oil discharge contingency plan if it 
determines that:  

1. Approval was obtained by fraud or misrepresentation;  

2. The plan cannot be implemented as approved;  

3. A term or condition of approval or of this chapter has 
been violated; or  

4. The tank vessel is no longer in operation.  

J. An application for approval of an oil discharge 
contingency plan will be accepted only when the fee 
established by this section has been paid.  

1. Fees shall be paid by operators of tank vessels subject to 
this chapter upon initial submittal of an oil discharge 
contingency plan to the board. Renewals, additions, 
deletions or changes to the plan are not subject to the 
administrative fee.  

2. Fees shall be paid in United States currency by check, 
draft or postal money order made payable to the Treasurer 

of Virginia. All applications and submissions 
accompanying fees shall be sent to:  

Mailing Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Financial Management  
P.O. Box 10150 1105 
Richmond, VA 23240 23218 

Location Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Financial Management  
629 East Main Street  
Richmond, VA 23219  

3. Application fees for approval of tank vessel contingency 
plans are as follows:  

a. For a tank vessel with a maximum storage, handling or 
transporting capacity of 15,000 gallons and up to and 
including 250,000 gallons of oil the fee is $718;  

b. For a tank vessel with a maximum storage, handling or 
transporting capacity greater than 250,000 gallons and up 
to and including 1,000,000 gallons of oil the fee is 
$2,155; and  

c. For a tank vessel with a maximum storage, handling or 
transporting capacity greater than 1,000,000 gallons of 
oil the fee is $3,353.  

4. The fee for approval of contingency plans encompassing 
more than one tank vessel, as authorized by subsection D 
of this section, shall be based on the aggregate capacity of 
the tank vessels.  

5. Application fees are refundable upon receipt of a written 
request for withdrawal of the plan and fee refund no later 
than 30 days after submittal and prior to approval of the 
plan.  

6. Overpayments of application fees are refundable upon 
written request. Overpayments not refunded will be 
credited for the applicant's future use under this section.  

9VAC25-101-50. Board financial responsibility 
demonstration.  

A. The operator of any tank vessel entering upon state 
waters shall deposit with the board cash or its equivalent in 
the amount of $500 per gross ton of such vessel. If the 
operator owns or operates more than one tank vessel, 
evidence of financial responsibility need be established only 
to meet the maximum liability applicable to the vessel having 
the greatest maximum liability.  

1. All documents submitted shall be in English and all 
monetary terms shall be in United States currency.  

2. A copy of the board's acceptance of the required 
evidence of financial responsibility shall be kept on the 
tank vessel and readily available for inspection.  
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B. If the board determines that oil has been discharged in 
violation of applicable state law or there is a substantial threat 
of such discharge from a vessel for which a cash deposit has 
been made, any amount held in escrow may be used to pay 
any fines, penalties or damages imposed under such law.  

C. Operators of tank vessels may obtain exemption from the 
cash deposit requirement if evidence of financial 
responsibility is provided in an amount equal to the cash 
deposit required for such tank vessel pursuant to § 62.1-
44.34:16 of the Code of Virginia and subsection A of this 
section. The following means of providing such evidence, or 
any combination thereof, will be acceptable:  

1. Self-insurance. Any operator demonstrating financial 
responsibility by self-insurance shall provide evidence of 
such self-insurance in a manner that is satisfactory to the 
board. An operator demonstrating self-insurance shall:  

a. Maintain, in the United States, working capital and net 
worth each in the amount required by § 62.1-44.34:16 of 
the Code of Virginia and subsection A of this section.  

(1) Maintenance of the required working capital and net 
worth shall be demonstrated by submitting with the 
application form an annual, current nonconsolidated 
balance sheet and an annual, current nonconsolidated 
statement of income and surplus certified by an 
independent certified public accountant. Those financial 
statements shall be for the operator's last fiscal year 
preceding the date of application and shall be 
accompanied by an additional statement from the 
operator's treasurer (or equivalent official) certifying to 
both the amount of current assets and the amount of total 
assets included in the accompanying balance sheet which 
are located in the United States and are acceptable for 
purposes of this chapter.  

(2) If the balance sheet and statement of income and 
surplus cannot be submitted in nonconsolidated form, 
consolidated statements may be submitted if 
accompanied by an additional statement by the involved 
certified public accountant certifying to the amount by 
which the operator's assets, located in the United States 
and acceptable under this subsection C, exceed total 
liabilities and that current assets, located in the United 
States and acceptable under this subsection C, exceed its 
current liabilities.  

(3) When the operator's demonstrated net worth is not at 
least 10 times the required amount, an affidavit shall be 
filed by the operator's treasurer (or equivalent official) 
covering the first six months of the operator's fiscal year. 
Such affidavits shall state that neither the working capital 
nor the net worth have fallen below the required amounts 
during the first six months.  

(4) Additional financial information shall be submitted 
upon request by the department; or  

b. Provide evidence in the form of a marine insurance 
broker's certificate of insurance, certificate of entry, or 
other proof satisfactory to the board that the operator has 
obtained oil pollution liability coverage through an 
operator's membership in a Protection & Indemnity 
(P&I) Club that is a member of the international group of 
P&I clubs or through coverage provided by a pool of 
marine underwriters in an amount sufficient to meet the 
requirements of § 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code of Virginia 
and subsection A of this section.  

2. Insurance. Any operator demonstrating evidence of 
financial responsibility by insurance shall provide evidence 
of insurance issued by an insurer licensed, approved, or 
otherwise authorized to do business in the Commonwealth 
of Virginia. The amount of insurance shall be sufficient to 
cover the amount required by § 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code 
of Virginia and subsection A of this section. The operator 
shall provide evidence of such coverage in the form of a 
marine insurance broker's certificate of insurance or by 
utilizing a form worded identically to the Insurance Form 
Furnished as Evidence of Financial Responsibility in 
Respect of Liability for Discharge of Oil available from the 
department. The insurer must also comply with all 
requirements in the form available from the department.  

3. Surety. Any operator demonstrating financial 
responsibility through a surety bond shall file a surety bond 
utilizing a form worded identically to the surety form 
available from the department. The surety company issuing 
the bond must be licensed to operate as a surety in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia and must possess an 
underwriting limitation at least equal to the amount 
required by § 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code of Virginia and 
subsection A of this section. The surety must also comply 
with all requirements in the Surety Bond Form Furnished 
as Evidence of Financial Responsibility in Respect of 
Liability for Discharge of Oil available from the 
department.  

4. Guaranty. An operator demonstrating financial 
responsibility through a guaranty shall submit the guaranty 
worded identically to the form available from the 
department. The guarantor shall comply with all provisions 
of subdivision 1 of this subsection for self-insurance and 
also comply with all requirements in the Guaranty Form 
Furnished as Evidence of Financial Responsibility in 
Respect of Liability for Discharge of Oil available from the 
department.  

D. To obtain exemption from the cash deposit requirements:  

1. The operator shall have and maintain an agent for 
service of process in the Commonwealth;  

2. Any insurer, guarantor, or surety shall have and maintain 
an agent for service of process in the Commonwealth;  
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3. Any insurer must be authorized by the Commonwealth 
of Virginia to engage in the insurance business; and  

4. Any instrument of insurance, guaranty or surety must 
provide that actions may be brought on such instrument of 
insurance, guaranty or surety directly against the insurer, 
guarantor or surety for any violation by the operator of 
Article 11 (§ 62.1-33.34:14 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of Title 
62.1 of the Code of Virginia up to, but not exceeding, the 
amount insured, guaranteed or otherwise pledged.  

5. All forms of evidence of financial responsibility shall be 
accompanied by an endorsement that certifies that the 
insurance policy, evidence of self-insurance, surety or 
guaranty provides liability coverage for the tank vessels in 
the amount required by § 62.1-44.34:16 of the Code of 
Virginia and subsection A of this section.  

6. Subdivisions 2, 3 and 4 of this subsection do not apply 
to operators providing evidence of financial responsibility 
in accordance with subdivision C 1 of this section.  

E. Any operator whose financial responsibility is accepted 
under this chapter shall notify the board at least 30 days 
before the effective date of a change, expiration or 
cancellation of any instrument of insurance, guaranty or 
surety.  

F. The board's approval of evidence of financial 
responsibility shall expire:  

1. One year from the date that the board exempts an 
operator from the cash deposit requirement based on 
acceptance of evidence of self-insurance;  

2. On the effective date of any change in the operator's 
instrument of insurance, guaranty or surety; or  

3. Upon the expiration or cancellation of any instrument of 
insurance, guaranty or surety.  

G. All nonexempt tank vessel operators shall file with the 
board the Application for Approval of Evidence of Tank 
Vessel Financial Responsibility which identifies the tank 
vessel operator and agent for service of process by name and 
address, provides identifying information on the tank vessel 
or vessels and certifies to the board that the information is 
true and accurate for approval of the evidence of financial 
responsibility. This form is available. This form shall be 
submitted with the required evidence of financial 
responsibility (cash deposit, proof of insurance, self-
insurance, guaranty or surety), and shall be completed as far 
as it pertains to the tank vessel. The operator must sign and 
date the certification statement on the application form. If the 
operator is a corporation, the application form must be signed 
by an authorized corporate official; if the operator is a 
municipality, state, federal or other public agency, the 
application form must be signed by an authorized executive 
officer or ranking elected official; if the operator is a 

partnership or sole proprietorship, the application form must 
be signed by a general partner or the sole proprietor.  

H. Application for renewal of approval of tank vessel 
financial responsibility shall be filed with the board 30 days 
prior to the date of expiration.  

I. All applications and written communications concerning 
changes, submissions and updates required by this chapter, 
with the exception of applications and submissions 
accompanied by fees as addressed in subsection K of this 
section, shall be addressed as follows:  

Mailing Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Spill Response and Remediation  
P.O. Box 10009 1105 
Richmond, VA 23240 23218 

Location Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Spill Response and Remediation  
629 East Main Street  
Richmond, VA 23219  

All applications and submissions accompanied by fees as 
addressed in subsection K of this section shall be sent to the 
address listed in subdivision K 2.  

J. The board, after notice and opportunity for hearing, may 
revoke its acceptance of evidence of financial responsibility if 
it determines that:  

1. Acceptance has been procured by fraud or 
misrepresentation; or  

2. A change in circumstances has occurred that would 
warrant denial of acceptance of evidence of financial 
responsibility.  

K. An application for approval of the demonstration of 
financial responsibility will be accepted only when the fees 
established by this section have been paid.  

1. Fees shall only be paid upon initial submittal of the 
demonstration of financial responsibility by an operator to 
the board. Renewals or changes are not subject to the 
administrative fee.  

2. Fees shall be paid in United States currency by check, 
draft or postal money order made payable to Treasurer of 
Virginia. All fees and accompanying applications and 
submissions shall be sent to:  

Mailing Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Financial Management  
P.O. Box 10150 1105 
Richmond, VA 23240 23218 
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Location Address:  

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality  
Office of Financial Management  
629 East Main Street  
Richmond, VA 23219  

3. Application fees for approval of evidence of financial 
responsibility for tank vessels are as follows:  

a. Applicants shall pay an application fee of $120.  

b. Applicants shall pay a fee of $30 for each additional 
tank vessel requiring a copy of the accepted evidence of 
financial responsibility.  

4. Application fees are refundable upon receipt of a written 
notice of withdrawal; of the proffer of financial 
responsibility and a request for refund received by the 
department no later than 30 days after submittal and prior 
to approval.  

5. Overpayments of application fees are refundable upon 
written request. Overpayments not refunded will be 
credited for the applicant's future use under this section.  

9VAC25-260-155. Ammonia surface water quality 
criteria.  

A. The one-hour average concentration of total ammonia 
nitrogen (in mg N/L) in freshwater shall not exceed, more 
than once every three years on the average1, the acute criteria 
below:  

Acute Ammonia Freshwater Criteria  
Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

pH Trout Present Trout Absent 
6.5 32.6 48.8 
6.6 31.3 46.8 
6.7 29.8 44.6 
6.8 28.1 42.0 
6.9 26.2 39.1 
7.0 24.1 36.1 
7.1 22.0 32.8 
7.2 19.7 29.5 
7.3 17.5 26.2 
7.4 15.4 23.0 
7.5 13.3 19.9 

7.6 11.4 17.0 
7.7 9.65 14.4 
7.8 8.11 12.1 
7.9 6.77 10.1 
8.0 5.62 8.40 
8.1 4.64 6.95 
8.2 3.83 5.72 
8.3 3.15 4.71 
8.4 2.59 3.88 
8.5 2.14 3.20 
8.6 1.77 2.65 
8.7 1.47 2.20 
8.8 1.23 1.84 
8.9 1.04 1.56 
9.0 0.885 1.32 

The acute criteria for trout present shall apply to all Class V-
Stockable Trout Waters and Class VI-Natural Trout Waters as 
listed in 9VAC25-260-390 through 9VAC25-260-540.  

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen acute criteria values in 
freshwater at different pH values than those listed in this 
subsection, use the following formulas:  

Where trout are present: Acute Criterion Concentration (mg 
N/L) =  

  0.275 39.0 
  (1 + 107.204-pH) 

+ 
(1 + 10pH-7.204) 

Or where trout are absent: Acute Criterion Concentration 
(mg N/L) =  

  0.411 58.4 
  (1 + 107.204-pH) 

+ 
(1 + 10pH-7.204) 

1The default design flow for calculating steady state waste 
load allocations for the acute ammonia criterion is the 1Q10 
(see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10) unless statistically 
valid methods are employed which demonstrate compliance 
with the duration and return frequency of the water quality 
criteria.  

B. The 30-day average concentration of total ammonia 
nitrogen (in mg N/L) where early life stages of fish are 
present in freshwater shall not exceed, more than once every 
three years on the average2, the chronic criteria below:  

Chronic Ammonia Freshwater Criteria  

Early Life Stages of Fish Present  

Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

  Temperature (°C) 

pH 0 14 16 18 20 22 24 26 28 30 

6.5 6.67 6.67 6.06 5.33 4.68 4.12 3.62 3.18 2.80 2.46 
6.6 6.57 6.57 5.97 5.25 4.61 4.05 3.56 3.13 2.75 2.42 
6.7 6.44 6.44 5.86 5.15 4.52 3.98 3.50 3.07 2.70 2.37 
6.8 6.29 6.29 5.72 5.03 4.42 3.89 3.42 3.00 2.64 2.32 
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6.9 6.12 6.12 5.56 4.89 4.30 3.78 3.32 2.92 2.57 2.25 
7.0 5.91 5.91 5.37 4.72 4.15 3.65 3.21 2.82 2.48 2.18 
7.1 5.67 5.67 5.15 4.53 3.98 3.50 3.08 2.70 2.38 2.09 
7.2 5.39 5.39 4.90 4.31 3.78 3.33 2.92 2.57 2.26 1.99 
7.3 5.08 5.08 4.61 4.06 3.57 3.13 2.76 2.42 2.13 1.87 
7.4 4.73 4.73 4.30 3.78 3.32 2.92 2.57 2.26 1.98 1.74 
7.5 4.36 4.36 3.97 3.49 3.06 2.69 2.37 2.08 1.83 1.61 
7.6 3.98 3.98 3.61 3.18 2.79 2.45 2.16 1.90 1.67 1.47 
7.7 3.58 3.58 3.25 2.86 2.51 2.21 1.94 1.71 1.50 1.32 
7.8 3.18 3.18 2.89 2.54 2.23 1.96 1.73 1.52 1.33 1.17 
7.9 2.80 2.80 2.54 2.24 1.96 1.73 1.52 1.33 1.17 1.03 
8.0 2.43 2.43 2.21 1.94 1.71 1.50 1.32 1.16 1.02 0.897 
8.1 2.10 2.10 1.91 1.68 1.47 1.29 1.14 1.00 0.879 0.773 
8.2 1.79 1.79 1.63 1.43 1.26 1.11 0.973 0.855 0.752 0.661 
8.3 1.52 1.52 1.39 1.22 1.07 0.941 0.827 0.727 0.639 0.562 
8.4 1.29 1.29 1.17 1.03 0.906 0.796 0.700 0.615 0.541 0.475 
8.5 1.09 1.09 0.990 0.870 0.765 0.672 0.591 0.520 0.457 0.401 
8.6 0.920 0.920 0.836 0.735 0.646 0.568 0.499 0.439 0.386 0.339 
8.7 0.778 0.778 0.707 0.622 0.547 0.480 0.422 0.371 0.326 0.287 
8.8 0.661 0.661 0.601 0.528 0.464 0.408 0.359 0.315 0.277 0.244 
8.9 0.565 0.565 0.513 0.451 0.397 0.349 0.306 0.269 0.237 0.208 
9.0 0.486 0.486 0.442 0.389 0.342 0.300 0.264 0.232 0.204 0.179 

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen chronic criteria values in freshwater when fish early life stages are present at different pH 
and temperature values than those listed in this subsection, use the following formulas:  

Chronic Criteria Concentration =  

0.0577 2.487   
( 

(1 + 107.688-pH) 
+ 

(1 + 10pH-7.688) 
) x MIN  

Where MIN = 2.85 or 1.45 x 100.028(25-T), whichever is less.  

T = temperature in °C  
2The default design flow for calculating steady state waste load allocations for the chronic ammonia criterion where early life 
stages of fish are present is the 30Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10) unless statistically valid methods are employed 
which demonstrate compliance with the duration and return frequency of the water quality criteria.  

C. The 30-day average concentration of total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) where early life stages of fish are absent 
(procedures for making this determination are in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection) in freshwater shall not exceed, 
more than once every three years on the average3, the chronic criteria below:  

Chronic Ammonia Freshwater Criteria  

Early Life Stages of Fish Absent  

Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

  Temperature (°C) 

pH 0-7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 

6.5 10.8 10.1 9.51 8.92 8.36 7.84 7.35 6.89 6.46 6.06 

6.6 10.7 9.99 9.37 8.79 8.24 7.72 7.24 6.79 6.36 5.97 
6.7 10.5 9.81 9.20 8.62 8.08 7.58 7.11 6.66 6.25 5.86 
6.8 10.2 9.58 8.98 8.42 7.90 7.40 6.94 6.51 6.10 5.72 
6.9 9.93 9.31 8.73 8.19 7.68 7.20 6.75 6.33 5.93 5.56 
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7.0 9.60 9.00 8.43 7.91 7.41 6.95 6.52 6.11 5.73 5.37 
7.1 9.20 8.63 8.09 7.58 7.11 6.67 6.25 5.86 5.49 5.15 
7.2 8.75 8.20 7.69 7.21 6.76 6.34 5.94 5.57 5.22 4.90 
7.3 8.24 7.73 7.25 6.79 6.37 5.97 5.60 5.25 4.92 4.61 
7.4 7.69 7.21 6.76 6.33 5.94 5.57 5.22 4.89 4.59 4.30 
7.5 7.09 6.64 6.23 5.84 5.48 5.13 4.81 4.51 4.23 3.97 
7.6 6.46 6.05 5.67 5.32 4.99 4.68 4.38 4.11 3.85 3.61 
7.7 5.81 5.45 5.11 4.79 4.49 4.21 3.95 3.70 3.47 3.25 
7.8 5.17 4.84 4.54 4.26 3.99 3.74 3.51 3.29 3.09 2.89 
7.9 4.54 4.26 3.99 3.74 3.51 3.29 3.09 2.89 2.71 2.54 
8.0 3.95 3.70 3.47 3.26 3.05 2.86 2.68 2.52 2.36 2.21 
8.1 3.41 3.19 2.99 2.81 2.63 2.47 2.31 2.17 2.03 1.91 
8.2 2.91 2.73 2.56 2.40 2.25 2.11 1.98 1.85 1.74 1.63 
8.3 2.47 2.32 2.18 2.04 1.91 1.79 1.68 1.58 1.48 1.39 
8.4 2.09 1.96 1.84 1.73 1.62 1.52 1.42 1.33 1.25 1.17 
8.5 1.77 1.66 1.55 1.46 1.37 1.28 1.20 1.13 1.06 0.990 
8.6 1.49 1.40 1.31 1.23 1.15 1.08 1.01 0.951 0.892 0.836 
8.7 1.26 1.18 1.11 1.04 0.976 0.915 0.858 0.805 0.754 0.707 
8.8 1.07 1.01 0.944 0.885 0.829 0.778 0.729 0.684 0.641 0.601 
8.9 0.917 0.860 0.806 0.756 0.709 0.664 0.623 0.584 0.548 0.513 
9.0 0.790 0.740 0.694 0.651 0.610 0.572 0.536 0.503 0.471 0.442 

At 15°C and above, the criterion for fish early life stages absent is the same as the criterion for fish early life stages present.  

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen chronic criteria values in freshwater when fish early life stages are absent at different pH 
and temperature values than those listed in this subsection, use the following formulas:  

Chronic Criteria Concentration =  

0.0577 2.487   
( 

(1 + 107.688-pH) 
+ 

(1 + 10pH-7.688) 
) x 1.45(100.028(25-MAX))  

MAX = temperature in °C or 7, whichever is greater.  
3The default design flow for calculating steady state waste load allocations for the chronic ammonia criterion where early life 
stages of fish are absent is the 30Q10 (see 9VAC25-260-140 B footnote 10) unless statistically valid methods are employed that 
demonstrate compliance with the duration and return frequency of the water quality criteria.  

1. Site-specific modifications to the ambient water quality criteria for ammonia to account for the absence of early life stages 
of fish shall be conducted in accordance with the procedures contained in this subdivision. Because the department presumes 
that most state waterbodies have early life stages of fish present during most times of the year, the criteria shall be calculated 
assuming early life stages of fish are present using subsection B of this section unless the following demonstration that early 
life stages are absent is successfully completed. Early life stages of fish are defined in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 
Modifications to the ambient water quality criteria for ammonia based on the presence or absence of early life stages of fish 
shall only apply at temperatures below 15°C.  

a. During the review of any new or existing activity that has a potential to discharge ammonia in amounts that may cause or 
contribute to a violation of the ammonia criteria contained in subsection B of this section, the department may examine 
data from the following approved sources in subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection or may require the 
gathering of data in accordance with subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) on the presence or absence of early life stages of fish 
in the affected waterbody.  

(1) Species and distribution data contained in the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife Information 
System database.  

(2) Species and distribution data contained in Freshwater Fishes of Virginia, 1994.  

(3) Data and fish species distribution maps contained in Handbook for Fishery Biology, Volume 3, 1997.  
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(4) Field data collected in accordance with U.S. EPA's Rapid Bioassessment Protocols for Use in Streams and Wadeable 
Rivers, Second Edition, EPA 841-B-99-002. Field data must comply with all quality assurance/quality control criteria.  

(5) The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Standard E-1241-88, Standard Guide for Conducting Early 
Life-Stage Toxicity Tests with Fishes.  

b. If data or information from sources other than subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection are considered, then any 
resulting site-specific criteria modifications shall be reviewed and adopted in accordance with the site-specific criteria 
provisions in 9VAC25-260-140 D, and submitted to EPA for review and approval.  

c. If the department determines that the data and information obtained from subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this 
subsection demonstrate that there are periods of each year when no early life stages are expected to be present for any 
species of fish that occur at the site, the department shall issue a notice to the public and make available for public 
comment the supporting data and analysis along with the department's preliminary decision to authorize the site-specific 
modification to the ammonia criteria. Such information shall include, at a minimum:  

(1) Sources of data and information.  

(2) List of fish species that occur at the site as defined by subdivision 3 of this subsection.  

(3) Definition of the site. Definition of a "site" can vary in geographic size from a stream segment to a watershed to an 
entire eco-region.  

(4) Duration of early life stage for each species in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

(5) Dates when early life stages of fish are expected to be present for each species in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

(6) Based on subdivision 1 c (5) of this subsection, identify the dates (beginning date, ending date), if any, where no early 
life stages are expected to be present for any of the species identified in subdivision 1 c (2) of this subsection.  

d. If, after reviewing the public comments received in subdivision 1 c of this subsection and supporting data and 
information, the department determines that there are times of the year where no early life stages are expected to be present 
for any fish species that occur at the site, then the applicable ambient water quality criteria for ammonia for those time 
periods shall be calculated using the table in this subsection, or the formula for calculating the chronic criterion 
concentration for ammonia when fish early life stages are absent.  

e. The department shall maintain a comprehensive list of all sites where the department has determined that early life 
stages of fish are absent. For each site the list will identify the waterbodies affected and the corresponding times of the year 
that early life stages are absent. This list is available either upon request from the Office of Water Quality Programs at 629 
E. Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219 P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, Virginia 23218 or from the department website 
http://deq.state.va.us/wqs/ http://www.deq.virginia.gov/wqs.  

2. The duration of the "early life stages" extends from the beginning of spawning through the end of the early life stages. The 
early life stages include the prehatch embryonic period, the post-hatch free embryo or yolk-sac fry, and the larval period, 
during which the organism feeds. Juvenile fish, which are anatomically similar to adults, are not considered an early life 
stage. The duration of early life stages can vary according to fish species. The department considers the sources of 
information in subdivisions 1 a (1) through (5) of this subsection to be the only acceptable sources of information for 
determining the duration of early life stages of fish under this procedure.  

3. "Occur at the site" includes the species, genera, families, orders, classes, and phyla that: are usually present at the site; are 
present at the site only seasonally due to migration; are present intermittently because they periodically return to or extend 
their ranges into the site; were present at the site in the past or are present in nearby bodies of water, but are not currently 
present at the site due to degraded conditions, and are expected to return to the site when conditions improve. "Occur at the 
site" does not include taxa that were once present at the site but cannot exist at the site now due to permanent physical 
alteration of the habitat at the site.  

4. Any modifications to ambient water quality criteria for ammonia in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall not likely 
jeopardize the continued existence of any federal or state listed, threatened or endangered species or result in the destruction 
or adverse modification of such species' critical habitat.  

D. The one-hour average concentration of total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) in saltwater shall not exceed, more than once 
every three years on the average, the acute criteria below:  
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Acute Ammonia Saltwater Criteria  

Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

Salinity = 10 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 
7.00 231.9 159.8 110.1 75.88 52.31 36.08 24.91 17.21 
7.20 146.4 100.9 69.54 47.95 33.08 22.84 15.79 10.93 
7.40 92.45 63.73 43.94 30.32 20.94 14.48 10.03 6.97 
7.60 58.40 40.28 27.80 19.20 13.28 9.21 6.40 4.47 
7.80 36.92 25.48 17.61 12.19 8.45 5.88 4.11 2.89 
8.00 23.37 16.15 11.18 7.76 5.40 3.78 2.66 1.89 
8.20 14.81 10.26 7.13 4.97 3.48 2.46 1.75 1.27 
8.40 9.42 6.54 4.57 3.20 2.27 1.62 1.18 0.87 
8.60 6.01 4.20 2.95 2.09 1.50 1.09 0.81 0.62 
8.80 3.86 2.72 1.93 1.39 1.02 0.76 0.58 0.46 
9.00 2.51 1.79 1.29 0.95 0.71 0.55 0.44 0.36 

Salinity = 20 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 
pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 

7.00 247.6 170.5 117.5 80.98 55.83 38.51 26.58 18.36 
7.20 156.3 107.7 74.21 51.17 35.30 24.37 16.84 11.66 
7.40 98.67 68.01 46.90 32.35 22.34 15.44 10.70 7.43 
7.60 62.33 42.98 29.66 20.48 14.17 9.82 6.82 4.76 
7.80 39.40 27.19 18.78 13.00 9.01 6.26 4.37 3.07 
8.00 24.93 17.23 11.92 8.27 5.76 4.02 2.83 2.01 
8.20 15.80 10.94 7.59 5.29 3.70 2.61 1.86 1.34 
8.40 10.04 6.97 4.86 3.41 2.41 1.72 1.24 0.91 
8.60 6.41 4.47 3.14 2.22 1.59 1.15 0.85 0.65 
8.80 4.11 2.89 2.05 1.47 1.07 0.80 0.61 0.48 
9.00 2.67 1.90 1.36 1.00 0.75 0.57 0.46 0.37 

Salinity = 30 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 
7.00 264.6 182.3 125.6 86.55 59.66 41.15 28.39 19.61 
7.20 167.0 115.1 79.31 54.68 37.71 26.03 17.99 12.45 
7.40 105.5 72.68 50.11 34.57 23.87 16.50 11.42 7.92 
7.60 66.61 45.93 31.69 21.88 15.13 10.48 7.28 5.07 
7.80 42.10 29.05 20.07 13.88 9.62 6.68 4.66 3.27 
8.00 26.63 18.40 12.73 8.83 6.14 4.29 3.01 2.13 
8.20 16.88 11.68 8.10 5.64 3.94 2.78 1.97 1.42 
8.40 10.72 7.44 5.18 3.63 2.56 1.82 1.31 0.96 
8.60 6.83 4.77 3.34 2.36 1.69 1.22 0.90 0.68 
8.80 4.38 3.08 2.18 1.56 1.13 0.84 0.64 0.50 
9.00 2.84 2.01 1.45 1.06 0.79 0.60 0.47 0.39 

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen acute criteria values in saltwater at different pH and temperature values than those listed 
in this subsection, use the following formulas:  
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I =  

  19.9273S 

  (1000 - 1.005109S) 

Where I = molal ionic strength of water  

S = Salinity ppt (g/kg)  

The regression model used to relate I to pKa (negative log of the ionization constant) is  

pKa = 9.245 +.138I  

pKa as defined by these equations is at 298 degrees Kelvin (25°C). T °Kelvin = °C + 273  

To correct for other temperatures:  

pKaS
T = pKaS

298 +.0324(298 - T °Kelvin)  

The unionized ammonia fraction (UIA) is given by:  

1   
UIA =  

1 + 10(pKaS
T-pH) 

The acute ammonia criterion in saltwater is given by:  

.233   
Acute =  

UIA 

Multiply the acute value by .822 to get the ammonia-N acute criterion.  

E. The 30-day average concentration of total ammonia nitrogen (in mg N/L) in saltwater shall not exceed, more than once 
every three years on the average, the chronic criteria below:  

Chronic Ammonia Saltwater Criteria  

Total Ammonia Nitrogen (mg N/L)  

Salinity = 10 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 
7.00 34.84 24.00 16.54 11.40 7.86 5.42 3.74 2.59 
7.20 21.99 15.15 10.45 7.20 4.97 3.43 2.37 1.64 
7.40 13.89 9.57 6.60 4.55 3.15 2.18 1.51 1.05 
7.60 8.77 6.05 4.18 2.88 2.00 1.38 0.96 0.67 
7.80 5.55 3.83 2.65 1.83 1.27 0.88 0.62 0.43 
8.00 3.51 2.43 1.68 1.17 0.81 0.57 0.40 0.28 
8.20 2.23 1.54 1.07 0.75 0.52 0.37 0.26 0.19 
8.40 1.41 0.98 0.69 0.48 0.34 0.24 0.18 0.13 
8.60 0.90 0.63 0.44 0.31 0.23 0.16 0.12 0.09 
8.80 0.58 0.41 0.29 0.21 0.15 0.11 0.09 0.07 
9.00 0.38 0.27 0.19 0.14 0.11 0.08 0.07 0.05 

Salinity = 20 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 
pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 

7.00 37.19 25.62 17.65 12.16 8.39 5.78 3.99 2.76 
7.20 23.47 16.17 11.15 7.69 5.30 3.66 2.53 1.75 
7.40 14.82 10.22 7.04 4.86 3.36 2.32 1.61 1.12 
7.60 9.36 6.46 4.46 3.08 2.13 1.47 1.02 0.71 
7.80 5.92 4.08 2.82 1.95 1.35 0.94 0.66 0.46 
8.00 3.74 2.59 1.79 1.24 0.86 0.60 0.43 0.30 
8.20 2.37 1.64 1.14 0.79 0.56 0.39 0.28 0.20 
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8.40 1.51 1.05 0.73 0.51 0.36 0.26 0.19 0.14 
8.60 0.96 0.67 0.47 0.33 0.24 0.17 0.13 0.10 
8.80 0.62 0.43 0.31 0.22 0.16 0.12 0.09 0.07 
9.00 0.40 0.28 0.20 0.15 0.11 0.09 0.07 0.06 

Salinity = 30 g/kg  

  Temperature °C 

pH 0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 
7.00 39.75 27.38 18.87 13.00 8.96 6.18 4.27 2.95 
7.20 25.09 17.29 11.91 8.21 5.67 3.91 2.70 1.87 
7.40 15.84 10.92 7.53 5.19 3.59 2.48 1.72 1.19 
7.60 10.01 6.90 4.76 3.29 2.27 1.57 1.09 0.76 
7.80 6.32 4.36 3.01 2.08 1.44 1.00 0.70 0.49 
8.00 4.00 2.76 1.91 1.33 0.92 0.64 0.45 0.32 
8.20 2.53 1.75 1.22 0.85 0.59 0.42 0.30 0.21 
8.40 1.61 1.12 0.78 0.55 0.38 0.27 0.20 0.14 
8.60 1.03 0.72 0.50 0.35 0.25 0.18 0.14 0.10 
8.80 0.66 0.46 0.33 0.23 0.17 0.13 0.10 0.08 
9.00 0.43 0.30 0.22 0.16 0.12 0.09 0.07 0.06 

To calculate total ammonia nitrogen chronic criteria values in saltwater at different pH and temperature values than those 
listed in this subsection, use the following formulas:  

I =  

  19.9273S 
  (1000 - 1.005109S) 

Where I = molal ionic strength of water  

S = Salinity ppt (g/kg)  

The regression model used to relate I to pKa (negative log of the ionization constant) is  

pKa = 9.245 +.138I  

pKa as defined by these equations is at 298 degrees Kelvin (25°C). T °Kelvin = °C + 273  

To correct for other temperatures:  

pKaS
T = pKaS

298 +.0324(298 - T °Kelvin)  

The unionized ammonia fraction (UIA) is given by:  

1   
UIA =  

1 + 10(pKaS
T-pH) 

The chronic ammonia criterion in saltwater is given by:  

.035   
Chronic =  

UIA 

Multiply the chronic value by .822 to get the ammonia-N chronic criterion.  

9VAC25-590-220. Notices to the State Water Control 
Board.  

All requirements of this regulation for notification to the 
State Water Control Board shall be addressed as follows:  

Director  
Department of Environmental Quality  
629 E. Main Street  
P.O. Box 10009 1105 
Richmond, Virginia 23240-0009 23218 

9VAC25-650-110. Letter of Credit.  

A. An owner or operator may satisfy the requirements of 
this chapter by obtaining an irrevocable standby letter of 
credit that conforms to the requirements of this section and by 
submitting an originally signed duplicate of the letter of credit 
to the board. The issuing institution shall be an entity that has 
the authority to issue letters of credit in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia and whose letter-of-credit operations are regulated 
and examined by a federal agency or the State Corporation 
Commission.  
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B. The letter of credit shall be worded as follows, except 
that instructions in parentheses are to be replaced with the 
relevant information and the parentheses deleted.  

IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT  

(Name and address of issuing institution)  

Beneficiary:  
Director  
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ)  
P.O.Box 10009 1105 
629 E. Main Street  
Richmond, Virginia 23240-0009 23218 

Dear Sir or Madam: We hereby establish our Irrevocable 
Standby Letter of Credit No.________ in your favor, at the 
request and for the account of (owner or operator name) of 
(address) up to the aggregate amount of (in words) U.S. 
dollars, ($(insert dollar amount)), available upon presentation 
of  

(1) your sight draft, bearing reference to this letter of 
credit, No._______ and  

(2) your signed statement reading as follows:  

"I certify that the amount of the draft is payable pursuant to 
regulations issued under authority of § 62.1-44.18:3 of the 
Code of Virginia."  

This letter of credit may be drawn on to implement the 
closure plan for the facility identified below in the amount of 
(in words) ($(insert dollar amount)). (Name of facility and 
address of the facility assured by this mechanism, and number 
of hookups served by the system.)  

This letter of credit is effective as of (date) and shall expire 
on (date), but such expiration date shall be automatically 
extended for a period of (at least the length of the original 
term) on (expiration date) and on each successive expiration 
date, unless, at least 120 days before the current expiration 
date, we notify the Director of the DEQ and the owner or 
operator by certified mail that we have decided not to extend 
this letter of credit beyond the current expiration date. In the 
event that the owner or operator is so notified, any unused 
portion of the credit shall be available upon presentation of 
your sight draft for 120 days after the date of receipt by the 
Director of the DEQ and the owner or operator, as shown on 
the signed return receipt.  

Whenever this letter of credit is drawn on under and in 
compliance with the terms of this credit, we shall duly honor 
such draft upon presentation to us, and we shall submit the 
amount of the draft directly to DEQ in accordance with your 
instructions.  

We certify that the wording of this letter of credit is identical 
to the wording required in 9VAC25-650-110 B as such 
regulations were constituted on the date shown immediately 
below.  

Attest:  

(Signature(s) and title(s) of official(s) of issuing institution)  

(Date)  

This credit is subject to (insert "the most recent edition of 
the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits, 
published by the International Chamber of Commerce," or 
"the Uniform Commercial Code").  

C. The letter of credit shall be irrevocable and issued for a 
period of at least one year in an amount at least equal to the 
current cost estimate for implementation of the closure plan. 
The letter of credit shall provide that the expiration date will 
be automatically extended for a period of at least one year. If 
the issuing institution decides not to extend the letter of credit 
beyond the current expiration date it shall, at least 120 days 
before the expiration date, notify both the owner or operator 
and the board by certified mail of that decision. The 120-day 
period will begin on the date of receipt by the board as shown 
on the signed return receipt. Expiration cannot occur, 
however, while an enforcement procedure is pending. If the 
letter of credit is canceled by the issuing institution, the 
owner or operator shall obtain alternate financial assurance to 
be in effect prior to the expiration date of the letter of credit.  

D. Whenever the approved cost estimate increases to an 
amount greater than the amount of credit, the owner or 
operator shall, within 60 days of the increase, cause the 
amount of credit to be increased to an amount at least equal to 
the new estimate or obtain other financial assurance as 
specified in this article to cover the increase. Whenever the 
cost estimate decreases, the letter of credit may be reduced to 
the amount of the new estimate following written approval by 
the board. The issuing institution shall send the notice of an 
increase or decrease in the amount of the credit to the board 
by certified mail within 60 days of the change.  

E. Following a determination by the board that the owner or 
operator has failed to provide alternate financial assurance 
within 60 days after the date the notice of cancellation is 
received by the owner or operator or has ceased operations at 
the facility or has failed to implement the closure plan in 
accordance with the approved plan or other permit or special 
order requirements, the board will draw on the letter of credit.  

F. The owner or operator may cancel the letter of credit only 
if alternate financial assurance acceptable to the board is 
substituted as specified in this article or if the owner or 
operator is released by the board from the requirements of 
this chapter.  

G. The board shall return the original letter of credit to the 
issuing institution for termination when:  

1. The owner or operator substitutes acceptable alternate 
financial assurance for implementation of the closure plan 
as specified in this article; or  
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2. The board notifies the owner or operator that he is no 
longer required by this article to maintain financial 
assurance for implementation of the closure plan for the 
facility.  

9VAC25-650-200. Notices to the State Water Control 
Board.  

All requirements of this chapter for notification to the State 
Water Control Board shall be addressed as follows:  

Mailing Address: Location Address: 

Director Director 
Department of 
Environmental Quality 

Department of 
Environmental Quality 

P.O. Box 10009 1105 629 East Main Street 
Richmond, Virginia 
23240-0009 23218 

Richmond, Virginia 23219 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3137; Filed April 16, 2012, 4:30 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 
Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 
board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 
conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 
following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 
advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 
including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 
development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-
4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 
proposed general permit.  

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC25-194. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
for Car Wash Facilities (amending 9VAC25-194-10, 
9VAC25-194-20, 9VAC25-194-40, 9VAC25-194-50, 
9VAC25-194-60, 9VAC25-194-70; adding 9VAC25-194-
15). 

9VAC25-810. General Virginia Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (VPDES) Permit for Coin-Operated 
Laundry (repealing 9VAC25-810-10 through 9VAC25-
810-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123 and 
124. 

Effective Date: October 16, 2012.  

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This rulemaking replaces and updates VAG75 (the VPDES 
car wash general permit), which expires October 16, 2012, 
and incorporates into it VAG72 (the VPDES coin-operated 
laundry general permit), which expires February 8, 2016. 
A secondary action associated with this rulemaking is the 
repeal of the VPDES coin-operated laundry general permit 
since the requirements of that permit (VAG72) are being 
incorporated into VAG75. The general permit establishes 
limitations and monitoring requirements for point source 
discharge of treated wastewaters from vehicle wash 
facilities and laundry facilities to surface waters. The 
general permit regulation is reissued to continue making it 
available as a permitting option for these types of 
facilities.  

This general permit covers vehicle wash wastewater 
generated from the fixed manual, automatic, or self-service 
washing of vehicles where the exterior washing of vehicles 
is conducted and expands those allowed coverage under 
the regulation to include more types of vehicle washing 
activities.  

This general permit also covers laundry facility 
wastewater from any self-service facility where the 
washing of clothes is conducted, as designated by Standard 
Industrial Classification Code 7215. However, it does not 
include facilities that engage in dry cleaning. 

Substantive changes add: (i) three reasons authorization to 
discharge cannot be granted (if the discharge violates the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30, if an approved TMDL contains a WLA 
for the facility, or if central wastewater treatment facilities 
are reasonably available); (ii) language to allow for 
administrative continuances of coverage; (iii) effluent 
limits pages for laundries and combined laundry and 
vehicle wash facilities; and (iv) five new special 
conditions. These changes are made to make this general 
permit similar to other general permits issued recently and 
in response to staff requests to clarify and update permit 
limits and conditions.  

Changes made since publication of the proposed 
regulation include (i) a revision of the "vehicle wash" 
definition to include mobile facilities, (ii) a revision of the 
TMDL basis for denial of coverage language, and (iii) the 
addition of a special condition for discharges to waters 
with an approved TMDL. 
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CHAPTER 194  
GENERAL VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE 

ELIMINATION SYSTEM (VPDES) PERMIT FOR CAR 
VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES AND LAUNDRY 

FACILITIES 

9VAC25-194-10. Definitions.  

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 
9VAC25-31-10 et seq. (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the 
purposes of this chapter:  

"Department" [ or "DEQ" ] means the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

"Laundry" means any self-service facility where the washing 
of clothes is conducted as designated by SIC 7215. It does not 
include facilities that engage in dry cleaning.  

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 
waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  

"Vehicle [ Maintenance" maintenance" ] means vehicle and 
equipment rehabilitation, mechanical repairs, painting, 
fueling, and lubrication. 

"Car wash Vehicle wash" means any fixed [ or mobile 
facility where the ] manual, automatic, or self-service 
[ facility where the ] exterior washing of vehicles including 
cars, vans and pick-up trucks is conducted as designated by 
SIC 7542. It includes auto dealer preparation and detailing, 
and fleet vehicle washing, but is not limited to, automobiles, 
trucks (except below), motor homes, buses, motorcycles, 
ambulances, fire trucks, tractor trailers, and other devices that 
convey passengers or goods on streets or highways. This 
definition also includes golf course equipment and lawn 
maintenance equipment. It also includes any incidental floor 
cleaning wash waters associated with facilities that wash 
vehicles where the floor wash water also passes through the 
vehicle wash water treatment system. It does not mean 
facilities that wash or steam clean engines, buses, horse/cattle 
trailers, tankers or tractor-trailers. Vehicle wash does not 
mean engine, acid caustic metal brightener, or steam heated 
water washing. It does not include cleaning the interior of 
bulk carriers. It does not include tanker trucks, garbage 
trucks, logging trucks, livestock trucks, construction 
equipment, trains, boats, or aircraft. It does not include floor 
cleaning wash waters from vehicle maintenance areas. 

[ 9VAC25-194-15. Applicability of incorporated 
references based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 
of the Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted 
herein and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be 
as it exists and has been published as a final regulation in the 
Federal Register prior to July 1, 2012, with the effective date 
as published in the Federal Register notice or October 16, 
2012, whichever is later. ]  

9VAC25-194-20. Purpose.  

This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 
wastewater from car wash vehicle wash facilities and laundry 
facilities to surface waters.  

9VAC25-194-40. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on October 16, 
2007 2012. This general permit will expire five years after the 
effective date on October 15, 2017. This general permit is 
effective for any covered owner upon compliance with all the 
provisions of 9VAC25-194-50 and the receipt of this general 
permit.  

9VAC25-194-50. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 
authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the owner files 
submits and receives acceptance by the board of the 
registration statement of 9VAC25-194-60, files submits the 
required permit fee, complies with the effluent limitations and 
other requirements of 9VAC25-194-70, and provided that: the 
board has not notified the owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection B of this 
section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 
any of the following: 

1. The owner has not been is required to obtain an 
individual permit according to in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-170 B 3. of the VPDES Permit Regulation;  

2. Other board regulations prohibit such discharges; 

3. The discharge violates or would violate the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30; 

4. [ An approved TMDL contains a WLA for the facility, 
unless this general permit specifically addresses the TMDL 
pollutant of concern and meets the TMDL WLA; or The 
discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 
requirements of an approved TMDL; or ]  
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5. The discharge is to surface waters where there are 
central wastewater treatment facilities reasonably 
available, as determined by the board. 

C. [ Mobile car washes may apply for coverage under this 
permit provided each discharge location is permitted 
separately. Mobile vehicle wash owners shall operate such 
that there is no discharge to surface waters and storm sewers 
unless they have coverage under this permit. ]  

2. The owner shall not be authorized by this general permit 
to discharge to state waters specifically named in other 
board regulations or policies which prohibit such 
discharges.  

B. Receipt of D. Compliance with this general permit 
constitutes compliance with the federal Clean Water Act, the 
State Water Control Law, and applicable regulations under 
either with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the 
VPDES Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under this 
general permit does not relieve any owner of the 
responsibility to comply with any other federal, state or local 
statute, ordinance or regulation.  

E. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
car wash facilities general permit issued in 2007, and that 
submits a complete registration statement on or before 
October 16, 2012, is authorized to continue to discharge 
under the terms of the 2007 general permit until such time 
as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 
or 

b. Notifies the owner that coverage under this permit is 
denied. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 
permit that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
amended general permit. If the general permit coverage 
is denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 
[ activities discharges ] authorized by the continued 
general permit or be subject to enforcement action 
for [ operating discharging ] without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 
or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-194-60. Registration statement. 

The owner shall file a complete VPDES general permit 
registration statement for car wash facilities. Any owner of an 
existing car wash that is covered by this general permit, who 
has discharge increases above a monthly average flow rate of 
5,000 gallons per day, shall file an amended registration 
statement at least 30 days prior to commencing operation of 
the new process. Any owner proposing a new discharge shall 
file the registration statement at least 30 days prior to the date 
planned for commencing operation of the new discharge. Any 
owner of an existing car wash covered by an individual 
VPDES permit who is proposing to be covered by this 
general permit shall file the registration statement at least 180 
days prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 
permit. Any owner of an existing car wash not currently 
covered by a VPDES permit who is proposing to be covered 
by this general permit shall file the registration statement. The 
required registration statement shall contain the following 
information: A. Deadlines for submitting registration 
statements. The owner seeking coverage under this general 
permit shall submit a complete VPDES general permit 
registration statement in accordance with this section, which 
shall serve as a notice of intent for coverage under the general 
VPDES permit for vehicle wash facilities and [ launder 
laundry ] facilities. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 
days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 
the new discharge. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 
who is proposing to be covered by this general permit 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 
210 days prior to the expiration date of the individual 
VPDES permit. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
general VPDES permit for coin-operated laundries 
(9VAC25-810) that became effective on February 9, 
2011, and who intends to continue coverage under this 
general permit, shall submit a complete registration 
statement to the board prior to September 16, 2012. 

c. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
general VPDES permit for car wash facilities (9VAC25-
194) that became effective on October 16, 2007, and who 
intends to continue coverage under this general permit, 
shall submit a complete registration statement to the 
board prior to September 16, 2012. 

d. Any owner of a vehicle wash facility covered under 
this permit who had a monthly average flow rate of less 
than 5,000 gallons per day, and the flow rate increases 
above a monthly average flow rate of 5,000 gallons per 
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day, shall submit an amended registration statement 
within 30 days of the increased flow.  

B. Late registration statements will be accepted, but 
authorization to discharge will not be retroactive. [ Owners 
described in subdivisions A 2 b and c of this section that 
submit late registration statements are authorized to discharge 
under the provisions of 9VAC25-194-50 E if a complete 
registration statement is submitted on or before October 16, 
2012. ]  

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 
following information: 

1. Facility name and mailing address, owner name and 
mailing address and, telephone number, and email address 
(if available);  

2. Facility location street address (if different from mailing 
address);  

3. Facility operator (local contact) name, address and, 
telephone number, and email address (if available) if 
different than owner;  

4. Does the facility discharge to surface waters? Name If 
"yes," name of receiving stream; if yes "no," describe the 
discharge;  

5. Does the facility discharge to a Municipal Separate 
Storm Sewer System (MS4)? If "yes," the facility owner 
must notify the owner of the municipal separate storm 
sewer system of the existence of the discharge within 30 
days of coverage under the general permit and provide the 
following information: the name of the facility, a contact 
person and phone number, the location of the discharge, 
the nature of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES 
general permit number; 

5. 6. Does the facility have a current VPDES Permit? 
Permit Number if yes If "yes," provide permit number;  

7. Does your locality require connection to central 
wastewater [ treatment ] facilities? 

8. Are central wastewater treatment facilities available to 
serve the site? If "yes," the option of discharging to the 
central wastewater facility must be evaluated and the result 
of that evaluation reported here; 

6. 9. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 
computer generated map showing the facility location 
discharge location(s) and receiving stream;  

7. 10. Provide a brief description of the type of car wash 
and washing activity. Include (as applicable) the type of 
vehicles washed; 8. Number, number of car wash vehicle 
washing bays;, and the number of laundry machines; 

9. 11. Highest average monthly flow rate; for each washing 
activity or combined washing activity, reported as gallons 
per day;  

10. 12. Facility line (water balance) drawing;  

11. 13. Treatment information Description of wastewater 
treatment;  

12. 14. Information on use of chemicals at the facility;. 
Include detergents, soaps, waxes and other chemicals; and 

15. Will detergent used for washing vehicles contain more 
than 0.5% phosphorus by weight? 

13. 16. The following certification:  

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is to the best of 
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations.  

The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110.  

9VAC25-194-70. General permit.  

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the board will receive the following permit and shall comply with the 
requirements therein and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31.  

General Permit No.: VAG75  
Effective Date: October 16, 2007 2012 

Expiration Date: October 16, 2012 15, 2017 
GENERAL PERMIT FOR CAR WASH VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES AND LAUNDRY FACILITIES  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM 
AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of car vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities are authorized to discharge to 
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surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except those specifically named in board regulations or 
policies which prohibit such discharges.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this cover page, Part I —Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 
Requirements, Part II —Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth herein.  

[ PART Part ] I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS  

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from car vehicle wash facilities that 
discharge a monthly average flow rate less than or equal to 5,000 gallons per day from outfall(s):  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Year Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0* 6.0(1) 9.0* 9.0(1) 1/Year Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2)  1/Year 5G/8HC 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/Year Grab 

NL—No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  

NA—Not applicable  

5G/8HC—Eight Hour Composite—Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, or 
until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. 

* (1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 
those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  

5G/8HC—Eight Hour Composite—Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, or 
until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3) [ Samples shall be collected by June 30 of each year and reported on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). 
DMRs shall be submitted by July 10 of each year. Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) of yearly monitoring (January 1 to 
December 31) shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of January of each year.  The first 
DMR is due January 10, 2014. ] 

2. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible foam in other than trace amounts.  

[ PART Part ] I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS  

1. 2. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from car vehicle wash facilities that 
discharge a monthly average flow rate greater than 5,000 gallons per day from outfall(s):  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/6 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0* 6.0(1) 9.0* 9.0(1) 1/6 Months Grab 
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TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/6 Months 5G/8HC 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

NL—No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  

NA—Not applicable  

5G/8HC—Eight Hour Composite—Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, or 
until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected. 

* (1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the discharge, 
those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  

5G/8HC—Eight Hour Composite—Consisting of five grab samples collected at hourly intervals until the discharge ceases, or 
until a minimum of five grab samples have been collected.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Samples shall be collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year and reported on the facility's Discharge Monitoring 
Report (DMR). DMRs shall be submitted by January 10 and July 10 of each year.  

2. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible foam in other than trace amounts. 

[ PART Part ] I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

3. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a laundry facility from outfall(s):  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1)  1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter Grab 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1), (2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32 [ (1), ] (4) 1/6 Months 
Immersion 
Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine (mg/l) NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 
235 CFU/100 

ml  
1/6 Months  Grab  

Enterococci(6) NA 
104 CFU/100 

ml 
1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7) NA 
200 CFU/100 

ml 
1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  

NA - Not applicable 

CFU – Colony Forming Units 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and temperature 
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in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 
October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 10th 
day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year.  
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For estuarine 
waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the effluent 
shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water temperature. For 
natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water temperature. The 
effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except in the case of 
natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 
designations).  
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 
and boundary designations).  
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 
waters).  

[ PART Part ] I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

4. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's 
expiration date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a combined vehicle wash and laundry 
facility from outfall(s):  

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS EFFLUENT 
CHARACTERISTICS Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter 5G/8HC 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1), (2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Oil & Grease NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32 [ (1), ] (4) 1/6 Months Immersion Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine 
(mg/l) 

NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 
235 CFU/100 

ml  
1/6 Months  Grab  

Enterococci(6) NA 
104 CFU/100 

ml 
1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7)  NA 
200 CFU/100 

ml 
1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only  
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NA - Not applicable  

CFU – Colony Forming Unit 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and temperature 
in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum effluent limitations.  
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 
October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 10th 
day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year.  
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For estuarine 
waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout waters, the effluent 
shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water temperature. For 
natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above natural water temperature. The 
effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour, except in the case of 
natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 
designations).  
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 
and boundary designations).  
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 
waters). 

B. Special conditions.  

1. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall perform 
inspections of the effluent and maintenance of the 
wastewater treatment facilities at least once per week and 
document activities on the operational log. This operational 
log shall be made available for review by the department 
personnel upon request.  

2. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts. 

2. 3. No sewage shall be discharged from a point source to 
surface waters from this facility except under the 
provisions of another VPDES permit specifically issued for 
that purpose.  

3. 4. There shall be no chemicals added to the water or 
waste which may be discharged other than those listed on 
the owner's accepted registration statement, unless prior 
approval of the chemical(s) is granted by the board.  

4. 5. Wastewater should be reused or recycled whenever 
feasible.  

5. 6. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall comply 
with the following solids management plan:  

a. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts.  

b. a. All settling basins shall be cleaned frequently in 
order to achieve effective treatment.  

c. b. All solids resulting from the car wash facility 
covered under this general permit, shall be handled, 
stored, and disposed of so as to prevent a discharge to 
state waters of such solids.  

6. 7. Washing of vehicles or containers bearing residue of 
animal manure or toxic chemicals (fertilizers, organic 
chemicals, etc.) into the wastewater treatment system is 
prohibited. If the facility is a self-service operation, the 
permittee shall post this prohibition on a sign prominently 
located and of sufficient size to be easily read by all 
patrons.  

8. If the facility has a vehicle wash discharge with a 
monthly average flow rate of less than 5,000 gallons per 
day, and the flow rate increases above a monthly average 
flow rate of 5,000 gallons per day, an amended registration 
statement shall be filed within 30 days of the increased 
flow. 

7. 9. Any permittee discharging into a municipal separate 
storm sewer shall notify the owner of the municipal 
separate storm sewer system of the existence of the 
discharge within 30 days of coverage under the general 
permit and provide the following information: the name of 
the facility, a contact person and phone number, and the 
location of the discharge, the nature of the discharge and 
the facility's VPDES general permit number.  

10. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 
not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 
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any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation. 

8. 11. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as 
they know or have reason to believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 
result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 
any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if 
that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 
notification levels:  

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter;  

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 
acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-
dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and 
one milligram per liter for antimony;  

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or  

(4) The level established by the board.  

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 
result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 
basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this 
permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels:  

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter;  

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony;  

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or  

(4) The level established by the board.  

12. Operation and maintenance manual requirement. The 
permittee shall develop and maintain an accurate 
operations and maintenance (O&M) manual for the 
treatment works. This manual shall detail the practices and 
procedures that will be followed to ensure compliance with 
the requirements of this permit. The permittee shall operate 
the treatment works in accordance with the O&M manual. 
The O&M manual shall be reviewed and updated at least 
annually and shall be signed and certified in accordance 
with Part II K of this permit. The O&M manual shall be 
made available for review by the department personnel 
upon request. The O&M manual shall include, but not 
necessarily be limited to, the following items, as 
appropriate:  

a. Techniques to be employed in the collection, 
preservation, and analysis of effluent samples;  

b. Discussion of best management practices, if 
applicable;  

c. Treatment system operation, routine preventive 
maintenance of units within the treatment system, critical 
spare parts inventory, and recordkeeping;  

d. A sludge/solids disposal plan; and  

e. Date(s) when the O&M manual was updated or 
reviewed and any changes that were made. 

13. Compliance Reporting under Part I A 1- 4.  

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows:  

Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 

BOD5 2 mg/l 
TSS 

Oil and Grease 
1.0 mg/l 
5.0 mg/l 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

b. Reporting. Any single datum required shall be reported 
as "<QL" if it is less than the QL in subdivision a of this 
subdivision. Otherwise, the numerical value shall be 
reported. 

c. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 
number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 
Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 
permittee (e.g., [ 5 five ] always rounding up or to the 
nearest even number), the permittee shall use the 
convention consistently and shall ensure that consulting 
laboratories employed by the permittee use the same 
convention. 

14. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-
46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories. 

15. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 
standards. 

[ 16. Discharges to waters with an approved total 
maximum daily load (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are 
a source of the specified pollutant of concern to waters 
where an approved TMDL has been established shall 
implement measures and controls that are consistent with 
the assumptions and requirements of the TMDL. ]  

[ 16. 17. ] Notice of Termination [ . ]  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 
permit by filing a complete notice of termination. The 
notice of termination may be filed after one or more of 
the following conditions have been met:  

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 
longer wastewater discharges from vehicle wash or 
laundry activities from the facility; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 
facility (NOTE: A notice of termination does not have to 
be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 
Agreement form has been submitted); [ or ]  
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(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 
covered by an individual or an alternative VPDES permit 
[ .; or 

(4) Notice of termination is requested for another reason 
provided the board agrees that coverage under this 
general permit is no longer needed. ]   

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 
information:  

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available);  

(2) Facility name and location;  

(3) VPDES vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities 
general permit number; and  

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 
including:  

i. A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 
responsibility for the facility;  

ii. A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 
the facility and there are no longer wastewater discharges 
from vehicle wash or laundry activities from the facility;  

iii. A statement indicating that all wastewater discharges 
from vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities have 
been covered by an individual VPDES permit; or  

iv. A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 
being requested for another reason (state the reason).  

c. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all wastewater 
discharges from vehicle wash or laundry facilities from 
the identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 
general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 
VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 
longer the owner of the industrial activity, or permit 
coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 
above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 
termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 
wastewater from vehicle wash facilities or laundry 
facilities in accordance with the general permit, and that 
discharging pollutants in wastewater from vehicle wash 
facilities or laundry facilities to surface waters is 
unlawful where the discharge is not authorized by a 
VPDES permit. I also understand that the submittal of 
this notice of termination does not release an owner from 
liability for any violations of this permit or the Clean 
Water Act."  

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in 
accordance with Part II K.  

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 
DEQ regional office serving the area where the vehicle 
wash or laundry facility is located. 

Part II  

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 
measurements;  

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  

c. The dates and times analyses were performed;  

d. The individuals who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee, or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 

Volume 28, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 7, 2012 

1459 



Regulations 

Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 
board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 
discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 
of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also 
furnish to the department upon request, copies of records 
required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the 
use of such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, 
or for recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F; or 
who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 

Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee shall submit the 
report to the department in writing within five days of 
discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part II I 2. 
Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but are not 
limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 
may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
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information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this subsection:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Parts II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Part II G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone [ or by 
FAX., FAX, or online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/prep 
/h2rpt.html. ] For reports outside normal working hours, 
leave a message and this shall fulfill the immediate 
reporting requirement. For emergencies, the Virginia 
Department of Emergency Management maintains a 24-
hour telephone service at 1-800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable 
to such source; or  

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 
their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 
are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 
permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 
permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 
approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 
vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit application requirements; and 
where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 
delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 
elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 
chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 
executive officer having responsibility for the overall 
operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  
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2. Reporting requirements. All reports required by permits 
and other information requested by the board shall be 
signed by a person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly 
authorized representative of that person. A person is a duly 
authorized representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company. A duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named position; 
and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 
II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 

Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration 
statement at least [ 180 30 ] days before the expiration date of 
the existing permit, unless permission for a later date has been 
granted by the board. The board shall not grant permission for 
registration statements to be submitted later than the 
expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 
II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 
construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 
penalties for noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 
Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 
when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 
the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  
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S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which 
does not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only 
if it also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 
operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 
of Part II U 2 and U 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2.  

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 
a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 
before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 
administrative action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the causes of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 
deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 
herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 
permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  
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1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. Except as provided in Part II Y 2, 
a permit may be transferred by the permittee to a new 
owner or operator only if the permit has been modified or 
revoked and reissued, or a minor modification made, to 
identify the new permittee and incorporate such other 
requirements as may be necessary under the State Water 
Control Law and the Clean Water Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, this 
permit may be automatically transferred to a new permittee 
if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department at least 
within 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the 
title to the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not 
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 
the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 
and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 
the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2693; Filed April 16, 2012, 4:13 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts general permits issued by the State Water 
Control Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law 
(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.), Chapter 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) of Title 
62.1, and Chapter 25 (§ 62.1-254 et seq.) of Title 62.1 if the 
board (i) provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 
conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01; (ii) 
following the passage of 30 days from the publication of the 
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action forms a technical 
advisory committee composed of relevant stakeholders, 
including potentially affected citizens groups, to assist in the 
development of the general permit; (iii) provides notice and 
receives oral and written comment as provided in § 2.2-
4007.03; and (iv) conducts at least one public hearing on the 
proposed general permit. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-196. General Virginia 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 
for Noncontact Cooling Water Discharges of 50,000 
Gallons Per Day or Less (amending 9VAC25-196-10, 

9VAC25-196-40, 9VAC25-196-50, 9VAC25-196-60, 
9VAC25-196-70; adding 9VAC25-196-15).  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 
124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 13, 2012 - 1:30 p.m. - Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 East Main Street, 2nd Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, VA 

Public Comment Deadline: July 6, 2012. 

Agency Contact: Burton Tuxford, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4086, FAX (804) 
698-4032, or email burton.tuxford@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This rulemaking revises and reissues the existing general 
permit, which expires on March 1, 2013, to continue 
making it available as a permitting option for this type of 
discharger. This general permit establishes effluent 
limitations and monitoring requirements for point source 
discharges of 50,000 gallons per day or less of noncontact 
cooling water and cooling equipment blow down to surface 
waters. The proposed changes to the regulation make this 
general permit similar to other general permits issued 
recently and clarify and update permit limits and 
conditions. 

Substantive proposed changes (i) add two reasons that 
authorization to discharge would not be granted; (ii) add 
language to allow for administrative continuation of 
permit coverage; (iii) add effluent limitations for copper, 
zinc, and silver for both freshwater and saltwater receiving 
streams; (iv) add special conditions for the required 
number of significant digits for reporting monitoring 
results, a requirement to implement measures and controls 
consistent with a TMDL requirement when the facility is 
subject to an approved TMDL, the notice of termination 
requirements, a requirement to control discharges as 
necessary to meet water quality standards, and the 
permittee's responsibility to comply with any other federal, 
state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation; and (v) 
modify the MS4 notification special condition to require 
the permittee to submit discharge monitoring reports to the 
owner of the municipal storm sewer system (MS4) if the 
permittee discharges to the MS4. 

9VAC25-196-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 
meanings defined in § 62.1-44.2 et seq. of the Code of 
Virginia (State Water Control Law), and 9VAC25-31-10 et 
seq. (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless the context clearly 
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indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of this 
chapter:  

"Blowdown" means a discharge of recirculating water from 
any cooling equipment or cooling process in order to 
maintain a desired quality of the recirculating water. Boiler 
blowdown is excluded from this definition.  

"Cooling water" means water used for cooling which does 
not come into direct contact with any raw product, 
intermediate product (other than heat) or finished product. For 
the purposes of this general permit, cooling water can be 
generated from any cooling equipment blowdown or 
produced as a result of any noncontact cooling process 
through either a single pass (once through) or recirculating 
system.  

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality.  

"Director" means the Director of the Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative.  

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a 
calculation of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a 
waterbody can receive and still meet water quality standards 
and an allocation of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A 
TMDL includes wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point 
source discharges, and load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint 
sources or natural background or both, and must include a 
margin of safety (MOS) and account for seasonal variations.  

9VAC25-196-15. Applicability of incorporated references 
based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted herein 
and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it 
exists and has been published as a final regulation in the 
Federal Register prior to July 1, 2012, with the effective date 
as published in the Federal Register notice or March 2, 2013, 
whichever is later. 

9VAC25-196-40. Effective date of the permit.  

This general permit will become effective on March 2, 2008 
2013. This general permit will expire five years from the 
effective date on March 1, 2018. This general permit is 
effective as to any covered owner upon compliance with all 
the provisions of 9VAC25-196-50 and the receipt of this 
general permit.  

9VAC25-196-50. Authorization to discharge.  

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 
authorized to discharge to surface waters of the 
Commonwealth of Virginia provided that the owner files 
submits and receives acceptance by the board of the 
registration statement of 9VAC25-196-60, files submits the 
required permit fee, and complies with the effluent limitations 

and other requirements of 9VAC25-196-70, and provided 
that: the board has not notified the owner that the discharge is 
not eligible for coverage in accordance with subsection B of 
this section.  

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 
eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 
any of the following:  

1. The owner has not been is required to obtain an 
individual permit according to in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-170 B 3. of the VPDES Permit Regulation;  

2. The owner shall not is proposing to discharge to Class V 
stockable trout waters, Class VI natural trout waters, or any 
state waters specifically named in other board regulations 
or policies which prohibit such discharges. Chlorine or any 
other halogen compounds shall not be used for disinfection 
or other treatment purposes, including biocide applications, 
for any discharges to waters containing endangered or 
threatened species as identified in 9VAC25-260-110 C of 
the Water Quality Standards.;  

3. The owner shall neither use tributyltin and any chemical 
additives containing tributyltin, nor use any hexavalent 
chromium-based water treatment chemicals in the cooling 
water systems. The discharge violates or would violate the 
antidegradation policy in the Water Quality Standards at 
9VAC25-260-30;  

4. The owner shall not use groundwater remediation wells 
as the source of cooling water The discharge is not 
consistent with the assumptions and requirements of an 
approved TMDL.  

C. Chlorine or any other halogen compounds shall not be 
used for disinfection or other treatment purposes, including 
biocide applications, for any discharges to waters containing 
endangered or threatened species as identified in 9VAC25-
260-110 C of the Water Quality Standards.  

D. The owner shall not use tributyltin, any chemical 
additives containing tributyltin, or any hexavalent chromium-
based water treatment chemicals in the cooling water systems.  

E. The owner shall not use groundwater remediation wells 
as the source of cooling water.  

B. Receipt of F. Compliance with this general permit 
constitutes compliance with the federal Clean Water Act, the 
State Water Control Law, and applicable regulations under 
either with the exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the 
VPDES Permit Regulation. Approval for coverage under this 
general permit does not relieve any owner of the 
responsibility to comply with any other applicable federal, 
state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation.  

G. Continuation of permit coverage.  

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
cooling water discharges general permit issued in 2008 and 
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that submits a complete registration statement on or before 
March 2, 2013, is authorized to continue to discharge 
under the terms of the 2008 general permit until such time 
as the board either:  

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit 
or  

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 
coverage under this general permit.  

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 
expired general permit has violated or is violating the 
conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 
or all of the following:  

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the general 
permit that has been continued;  

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 
amended general permit. If the general permit coverage 
is denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 
discharges authorized by the continued general permit or 
be subject to enforcement action for discharging without 
a permit;  

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 
or  

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 
Regulation (9VAC25-31).  

9VAC25-196-60. Registration statement.  

The owner shall file a complete general VPDES permit 
registration statement for cooling water discharges. Any 
owner proposing a new discharge shall file a complete 
registration statement at least 30 days prior to the date 
planned for commencing operation of the new discharge. Any 
owner of an existing discharge covered by an individual 
VPDES permit who is proposing to be covered by this 
general permit shall file the registration statement at least 180 
days prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 
permit. Any owner of an existing discharge not currently 
covered by a VPDES permit who is proposing to be covered 
by this general permit shall file a complete registration 
statement. The required registration statement shall contain 
the following information: A. Deadlines for submitting 
registration statements. The owner seeking coverage under 
this general permit shall submit a complete VPDES general 
permit registration statement in accordance with this section, 
which shall serve as a notice of intent for coverage under the 
general VPDES permit for cooling water discharges of 
50,000 gallons per day or less.  

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 
days prior to the date planned for commencing operation of 
the new discharge.  

2. Existing facilities.  

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit 
who is proposing to be covered by this general permit 
shall submit a complete registration statement at least 
210 days prior to the expiration date of the individual 
VPDES permit.  

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 
general VPDES permit that became effective on March 
2, 2008, and who intends to continue coverage under this 
general permit shall submit a complete registration 
statement to the board on or before February 1, 2013.  

B. Late registration statements. Late registration statements 
will be accepted, but authorization to discharge will not be 
retroactive. Owners described in subdivision A 2 b of this 
section that submit late registration statements are authorized 
to discharge under the provisions of 9VAC25-196-50 G if a 
complete registration statement is submitted on or before 
March 2, 2013.  

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 
following information:  

1. Facility name and address, owner name and, mailing 
address and, telephone number, and email address (if 
available); 

2. Operator name, mailing address, and telephone number, 
and email address (if available) if different from owner; 

3. Does the facility currently have a VPDES permit? 
Permit Number if yes; 

4. Listing of point source discharges that are not composed 
entirely of cooling water; 

5. Listing of type and size (tons) of cooling equipment or 
noncontact cooling water processes; 

6. The following information if any chemical or 
nonchemical treatment, or both, is employed in each of the 
cooling water systems:  

a. Description of the chemical or nonchemical treatment, 
or both, to be employed (both chemical and 
nonchemical) and its purpose; for chemical additives 
other than chlorine, provide the information prescribed in 
subdivisions 6 b, c, d , e and f; 

b. Name and manufacturer of each additive used;  

c. List of active ingredients and percent composition;  

d. Proposed schedule and quantity of chemical usage, and 
either an engineering analysis, or a technical evaluation 
of the active ingredients, to determine the concentration 
in the discharge;  

e. Available aquatic toxicity information for each 
proposed additive used; and  

f. Any other information such as product or constituent 
degradation, fate, transport, synergies, bioavailability, 
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etc., that will aid the board with the toxicity evaluation of 
the discharge.; 

7. Description of any type of treatment or retention being 
provided to the wastewater before discharge (i.e. retention 
ponds, settling ponds, etc.); 

8. A schematic drawing of the cooling water equipment 
that shows the source of the cooling water, its flow through 
the facility, and each cooling water discharge point.; 

9. For cooling waters with a direct discharge to surface 
waters, a A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or 
equivalent computer generated map extending to at least 
one mile beyond the property boundary. The map must 
show the outline of the facility and the location of each of 
its existing and proposed intake and discharge points, and 
must include all springs, rivers and other surface water 
bodies.; 

10. The following discharge information:  

a. A listing of all cooling water discharges by a unique 
number;  

b. The source of cooling water for each discharge;  

c. An estimate of the maximum daily flow in gallons per 
day for each discharge;  

d. The name of the waterbody receiving direct discharge 
or discharge through the municipal separate storm sewer 
system; and 

e. The duration and frequency of the discharge for each 
separate discharge point; continuous, intermittent, or 
seasonal; 

f. The name and contact information of the owner of the 
municipal separate storm sewer system that receives the 
discharge, if applicable.  

11. Whether the facility will discharge to a municipal 
separate storm sewer system (MS4). If so, the name of the 
MS4 owner. The owner of the facility shall notify the MS4 
owner in writing of the existence of the discharge within 
30 days of coverage under the general permit, and shall 
copy the DEQ regional office with the notification. The 
notification shall include the following information: the 
name of the facility, a contact person and phone number, 
the location of the discharge, the nature of the discharge, 
and the facility's VPDES general permit number; and 

12. The following certification:  

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system or those 
persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is to the best of 
my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations.  

D. The registration statement shall be signed in accordance 
with 9VAC25-31-110.  

9VAC25-196-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the board will receive the following permit and shall comply with the 
requirements therein and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31.  

General Permit No: VAG25  
Effective Date: March 2, 2008 2013  

Expiration Date: March 1, 2013 2018  

GENERAL PERMIT FOR NONCONTACT COOLING WATER DISCHARGES OF 50,000 GALLONS PER DAY OR LESS  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM 
AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW  

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 
regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of noncontact cooling water discharges of 50,000 gallons per day or less are 
authorized to discharge to surface waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except Class V stockable 
trout waters, Class VI natural trout waters, and those specifically named in board regulations or policies which prohibit such 
discharges. Chlorine or any other halogen compounds shall not be used for disinfection or other treatment purposes, including 
biocide applications, for any discharges to waters containing endangered or threatened species as identified in 9VAC25-260-
110 C of the Water Quality Standards.  

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with this cover page, Part I - Effluent Limitations and Monitoring 
Requirements, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to all VPDES Permits, as set forth herein.  
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Part I  

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS.  

During the period beginning on the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 
authorized to discharge noncontact cooling water. Samples taken in compliance with the monitoring requirements specified 
below shall be taken at the following location(s): outfall(s): _______________.  

Such discharges 1. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the first four years of the permit term (March 2, 
2013, through March 1, 2017). Discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 
Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9 9.0(2) 6 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Hardness (mg/l CaCO3)
(7) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Dissolved Recoverable Copper(4) 
(μg/l) 

NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Dissolved Recoverable Zinc(4) 
(μg/l) 

NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Dissolved Recoverable Silver(4), 

(5) (μg/l) 
NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 
temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 
temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 
natural conditions without the influence of any point-source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 
surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 
cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 
monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analysis analytical method is not specified for these materials; however a maximum quantification level (Max 
QL) value for each metal has been established. An appropriate analysis method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected 
from the following list of EPA methods to achieve a quantification level that is less than the target level for the material under 
consideration: using any approved method presented in 40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method 
quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  
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Material EPA Method Target Level Max QL (μg/l) 
Copper 200.7, 200.8, 200.9, 1638, 1640 9.2 1.0 

Zinc 289.2, 200.7, 200.8, 1638, 1639 65.0 50.0 
Silver 200.7, 200.8, 200.9, 1638 1.2 1.0 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required quantification level QL has been 
attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 
(7)Hardness monitoring is only required for discharges to freshwater streams, perennial streams, or dry ditches.  

2. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the last year of the permit term (March 2, 2017, through March 1, 
2018), discharges to freshwater receiving streams. Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as 
specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 
Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) 9.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 120 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) 3.4 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 
temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 
temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 
natural conditions without the influence of any point-source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 
surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 
cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 
monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 
been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 
40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 
actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  

Volume 28, Issue 18 Virginia Register of Regulations May 7, 2012 

1469 



Regulations 

Material Max QL (μg/l) 
Copper 1.0 
Zinc 50.0 
Silver 1.0 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 

3. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements for the last year of the permit term (March 2, 2017, through March 1, 
2018), discharges to saltwater receiving streams. Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as 
specified below:  

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 
EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

Maximum Minimum Frequency Sample Type 

Flow (MGD) 0.05 NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

Temperature (°C) (1) NA 1/3 Months Immersion 
Stabilization 

pH (SU) 9.0(2) 6.0(2) 1/3 Months Grab 

Ammonia-N(3) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Residual Chlorine(3) (mg/l) Nondetectable NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Copper(4) (μg/l) 6.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Zinc(4) (μg/l) 81 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Recoverable Silver(4), (5) (μg/l) 1.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Total Phosphorus(6) (mg/l) NL NA 1/3 Months Grab 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not applicable 
(1)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, or 31°C 
for mountain and upper piedmont waters. No maximum temperature limit, only monitoring, applies to discharges to estuarine 
waters. 

The effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural water 
temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C per hour. Natural 
temperature is defined as that temperature of a body of water (measured as the arithmetic average over one hour) due solely to 
natural conditions without the influence of any point-source discharge. 
(2)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in the waters receiving the 
discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(3)Chlorine limitation of nondetectable (<0.1 mg/l) and chlorine monitoring only apply to outfalls directly discharging to 
surface waters where either: (i) a treatment additive that contains chlorine or chlorine compounds is used or (ii) the source of 
cooling water is chlorinated. All data below the quantification level (QL) of 0.1 mg/L shall be reported as "<QL." Ammonia 
monitoring only applies where the source of cooling water is disinfected using chloramines. 
(4)A specific analytical method is not specified; however a maximum quantification level (Max QL) value for each metal has 
been established. An appropriate method to meet the Max QL value shall be selected using any approved method presented in 
40 CFR Part 136. If the test result is less than the method quantification level (QL), a "<[QL]" shall be reported where the 
actual analytical test QL is substituted for [QL].  
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Material Max QL (μg/l) 
Copper 1.0 
Zinc 50.0 
Silver 1.0 

Quality control/assurance information shall be submitted to document that the required QL has been attained. 
(5)Silver monitoring is only required where a Cu/Ag anode is used. 
(6)Phosphorus monitoring is only required where an additive containing phosphorus is used. 

B. Special conditions.  

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 
foam in other than trace amounts.  

2. No discharges other than cooling water, as defined, are 
permitted under this general permit.  

3. The use of any chemical additives not identified in the 
registration statement, except chlorine, without prior 
approval is prohibited under this general permit. Prior 
approval shall be obtained from the DEQ before any 
changes are made to the chemical and/or or nonchemical 
treatment technology employed in the cooling water 
system. Requests for approval of the change shall be made 
in writing and shall include the following information:  

a. Describe the chemical and/or or nonchemical treatment 
to be employed and its purpose; if chemical additives are 
used, provide the information prescribed in subdivisions 
3 b, c, d, e and f; 

b. Provide the name and manufacturer of each additive 
used;  

c. Provide a list of active ingredients and percentage of 
composition;  

d. Give the proposed schedule and quantity of chemical 
usage, and provide either an engineering analysis, or a 
technical evaluation of the active ingredients, to 
determine the concentration in the discharge;  

e. Attach available aquatic toxicity information for each 
additive proposed for use; and 

f. Attach any other information such as product or 
constituent degradation, fate, transport, synergies, 
bioavailability, etc., that will aid the board with the 
toxicity evaluation for the discharge.  

4. Where cooling water is discharged through a municipal 
storm sewer system to surface waters, the permittee shall, 
within 30 days of coverage under this general permit, 
notify the owner of the municipal separate storm sewer 
system in writing of the existence of the discharge and 
provide the following information: the name of the facility, 
a contact person and phone number, the nature of the 
discharge, number of the outfalls, and the location of the 
discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 
number. A copy of such notification shall be provided to 

the department. Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) 
required by this permit shall be submitted to both the 
department and the owner of the municipal separate storm 
sewer system.  

5. The permittee shall at all times properly operate and 
maintain all cooling water systems. Inspection shall be 
conducted for each cooling water unit by the plant 
personnel at least once per year with reports maintained on 
site.  

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as 
they know or have reason to believe:  

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent 
basis, of any toxic pollutant which is not limited in this 
permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of the 
following notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 μg/l); 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 μg/l) for 
acrolein and acrylonitrile; 500 micrograms per liter (500 
μg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 
2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter 
(1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur which 
would result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or 
infrequent basis, of a toxic pollutant which is not limited 
in this permit, if that discharge will exceed the highest of 
the following notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μg/l); 

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 
for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board in accordance with 
9VAC25-31-220 F. 

7. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no chemical 
additives. Geothermal systems using groundwater and no 
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chemical additives may be eligible for reduced monitoring 
requirements. 

If a geothermal system was covered by the previous 
cooling water general permit, and the monitoring results 
from the previous permit term demonstrate full compliance 
with the effluent limitations, the permittee may request 
authorization from the department to reduce the monitoring 
to once in the first monitoring quarter of the first year of 
this permit term. 

Owners of new geothermal systems, and previously 
unpermitted geothermal systems that receive coverage 
under this permit shall submit monitoring results to the 
department for the first four monitoring quarters after 
coverage begins. If the monitoring results demonstrate full 
compliance with the effluent limitations, the permittee may 
request authorization from the department to suspend 
monitoring for the remainder of the permit term. 

Should the permittee be issued a warning letter related to 
violation of effluent limitations, a notice of violation, or be 
the subject of an active enforcement action, upon issuance 
of the letter or notice, or initiation of the enforcement 
action the monitoring frequency shall revert to 1/3 months 
and remain in effect until the permit's expiration date. 

8. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 
number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 
Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 
permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 
even number), the permittee shall use the convention 
consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 
employed by the permittee use the same convention.  

9. Discharges to waters with an approved "total maximum 
daily load" (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are a source 
of the specified pollutant of concern to waters where an 
approved TMDL has been established shall implement 
measures and controls that are consistent with the 
assumptions and requirements of the TMDL.  

10. Notice of termination.  

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 
permit by filing a complete notice of termination. The 
notice of termination may be filed after one or more of 
the following conditions have been met:  

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 
longer cooling water discharges from the facility;  

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 
facility (NOTE: A notice of termination does not have to 
be submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership 
Agreement form has been submitted);  

(3) All cooling water discharges associated with this 
facility have been covered by an individual VPDES 
permit or an alternative VPDES permit; or  

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for 
another reason, provided the board agrees that coverage 
under this general permit is no longer needed.  

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 
information:  

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 
and email address (if available);  

(2) Facility name and location;  

(3) VPDES cooling water discharges general permit 
number; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 
including:  

i. A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 
responsibility for the facility;  

ii. A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 
the facility and there are no longer cooling water 
discharges from the facility;  

iii. A statement indicating that all cooling water 
discharges have been covered by an individual VPDES 
permit; or  

iv. A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 
being requested for another reason (state the reason).  

c. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 
law that all cooling water discharges from the identified 
facility that are authorized by this VPDES general permit 
have been eliminated, or covered under a VPDES 
individual or alternative permit, or that I am no longer 
the owner of the facility, or permit coverage should be 
terminated for another reason listed above. I understand 
that by submitting this notice of termination, that I am no 
longer authorized to discharge cooling water in 
accordance with the general permit, and that discharging 
pollutants in cooling water to surface waters is unlawful 
where the discharge is not authorized by a VPDES 
permit. I also understand that the submittal of this notice 
of termination does not release an owner from liability 
for any violations of this permit or the Clean Water Act."  

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in 
accordance with Part II K.  

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 
DEQ regional office serving the area where the cooling 
water discharge is located.  

11. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 
controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 
standards.  

12. Approval for coverage under this general permit does 
not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 
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any other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 
regulation.  

Part II  
Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits  

A. Monitoring.  

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 
permit shall be representative of the monitored activity.  

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 
approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 
approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 
unless other procedures have been specified in this permit.  

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 
maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 
instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 
measurements.  

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be 
analyzed in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 
Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-
46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 
Laboratories.  

B. Records.  

1. Records of monitoring information shall include:  

a. The date, exact place and time of sampling or 
measurements;  

b. The individual(s) who performed the sampling or 
measurements;  

c. The date(s) and time(s) analyses were performed;  

d. The individual(s) who performed the analyses;  

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and  

f. The results of such analyses.  

2. Except for records of monitoring information required 
by this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use 
and disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period 
of at least five years, the permittee shall retain records of 
all monitoring information, including all calibration and 
maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 
for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 
reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 
to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 
period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 
measurement, report or request for coverage. This period 
of retention shall be extended automatically during the 
course of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated 
activity or regarding control standards applicable to the 
permittee or as requested by the board.  

C. Reporting monitoring results.  

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 
required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 
month after monitoring takes place, unless another 
reporting schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. 
Monitoring results shall be submitted to the department's 
regional office.  

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 
Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 
or specified by the department.  

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 
addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 
this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 
Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 
specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 
be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 
submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 
department.  

4. Calculations for all limitations which require averaging 
of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 
otherwise specified in this permit.  

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 
to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 
which the board may request to determine whether cause 
exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating 
this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. The 
board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, such 
plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as may 
be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 
discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 
information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes 
of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also 
furnish to the department upon request copies of records 
required to be kept by this permit.  

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 
noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 
final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 
this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 
each schedule date.  

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 
permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to:  

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 
other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or  

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 
properties of such state waters and make them detrimental 
to the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of 
such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 
recreation, or for other uses.  

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 
discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 
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industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 
substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 
who discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 
reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of 
Part II F, shall notify the department of the discharge 
immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 
later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of 
the unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the 
department within five days of discovery of the discharge. 
The written report shall contain:  

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge;  

2. The cause of the discharge;  

3. The date on which the discharge occurred;  

4. The length of time that the discharge continued;  

5. The volume of the discharge;  

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 
continue;  

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 
volume of the discharge will be; and  

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 
prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 
discharges not authorized by this permit.  

Discharges reportable to the department under the 
immediate reporting requirements of other regulations are 
exempted from this requirement.  

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 
unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or 
upset should occur from a treatment works and the discharge 
enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 
shall promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the 
department by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. 
This notification shall provide all available details of the 
incident, including any adverse affects on aquatic life and the 
known number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the 
report to writing and shall submit it to the department within 
five days of discovery of the discharge in accordance with 
Part II I 2. Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but 
are not limited to any discharge resulting from:  

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 
indirectly from processing operations;  

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment;  

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the 
treatment works; and  

4. Flooding or other acts of nature.  

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 
noncompliance which may adversely affect state waters or 
may endanger public health.  

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 
the time the permittee becomes aware of the 
circumstances. The following shall be included as 
information which shall be reported within 24 hours under 
this subsection:  

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and  

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters.  

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 
shall contain:  

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause;  

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 
and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 
corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 
and  

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 
prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance.  

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 
basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 
oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 
adverse impact on state waters has been reported.  

3. The permittee shall report all instances of 
noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 or 2, in 
writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 
submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed 
in Part II I 2.  

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 
in Parts II G, H and I may be made to the department's 
regional office. Reports may be made by telephone or by 
fax, FAX, or online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 
Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/PollutionReport
ingForm.aspx. For reports outside normal working hours, 
leave a message and this shall fulfill the immediate 
reporting requirement. For emergencies, the Virginia 
Department of Emergency Services maintains a 24-hour 
telephone service at 1-800-468-8892.  

J. Notice of planned changes.  

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as 
soon as possible of any planned physical alterations or 
additions to the permitted facility. Notice is required only 
when:  

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 
building, structure, facility, or installation from which 
there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 
construction of which commenced:  

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance 
under § 306 of Clean Water Act which are applicable to 
such source; or  
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(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 
accordance with § 306 of Clean Water Act which are 
applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 
promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 
their proposal;  

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change 
the nature or increase the quantity of pollutants 
discharged. This notification applies to pollutants which 
are subject neither to effluent limitations nor to 
notification requirements specified elsewhere in this 
permit; or  

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant 
change in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, 
and such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 
application of permit conditions that are different from or 
absent in the existing permit, including notification of 
additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 
permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 
approved land application plan.  

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the 
department of any planned changes in the permitted facility 
or activity which may result in noncompliance with permit 
requirements.  

K. Signatory requirements.  

1. Registration statements. All registration statements shall 
be signed as follows:  

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 
For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 
officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or 
vice-president of the corporation in charge of a principal 
business function, or any other person who performs 
similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 
the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 
manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 
provided the manager is authorized to make management 
decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 
facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 
making major capital investment recommendations, and 
initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 
assure long-term environmental compliance with 
environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 
ensure that the necessary systems are established or 
actions taken to gather complete and accurate 
information for permit application requirements; and 
where authority to sign documents has been assigned or 
delegated to the manager in accordance with corporate 
procedures;  

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 
partner or the proprietor, respectively; or  

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 
agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 
executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the 
chief executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior 
executive officer having responsibility for the overall 
operations of a principal geographic unit of the agency.  

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits, and other 
information requested by the board shall be signed by a 
person described in Part II K 1, or by a duly authorized 
representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 
representative only if:  

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 
described in Part II K 1;  

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 
position having responsibility for the overall operation of 
the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 
plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 
superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or 
an individual or position having overall responsibility for 
environmental matters for the company (a duly 
authorized representative may thus be either a named 
individual or any individual occupying a named 
position); and  

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 
department.  

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 
II K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 
or position has responsibility for the overall operation of 
the facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements 
of Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to 
or together with any reports or information to be signed by 
an authorized representative.  

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 
II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification:  

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 
attachments were prepared under my direction or 
supervision in accordance with a system designed to 
assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 
evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 
of the person or persons who manage the system, or 
those persons directly responsible for gathering the 
information, the information submitted is, to the best of 
my knowledge and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I 
am aware that there are significant penalties for 
submitting false information, including the possibility of 
fine and imprisonment for knowing violations."  

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 
conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 
constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 
Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 
provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the 
State Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 
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noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for permit 
termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or 
denial of a permit renewal application.  

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 
prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water 
Act for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water 
Act within the time provided in the regulations that establish 
these standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge 
use or disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified 
to incorporate the requirement.  

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 
activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of 
this permit, the permittee shall apply for and obtain a new 
permit. All permittees with a currently effective permit shall 
submit a new registration statement at least 90 30 days before 
the expiration date of the existing permit, unless permission 
for a later date has been granted by the board. The board shall 
not grant permission for registration statements to be 
submitted later than the expiration date of the existing permit.  

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 
property rights in either real or personal property or any 
exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to 
private property or invasion of personal rights, or any 
infringement of federal, state or local law or regulations.  

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 
preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve 
the permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 
established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 
under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 
Except as provided in permit conditions on bypass (Part II U) 
and upset (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be construed 
to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal penalties for 
noncompliance.  

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 
permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 
legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 
liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 
subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 
State Water Control Law.  

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 
all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 
systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
which are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 
compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper 
operation and maintenance also includes effective plant 
performance, adequate funding, adequate staffing, and 
adequate laboratory and process controls, including 
appropriate quality assurance procedures. This provision 
requires the operation of back-up or auxiliary facilities or 
similar systems which are installed by the permittee only 

when the operation is necessary to achieve compliance with 
the conditions of this permit.  

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges or other 
pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 
of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 
any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters.  

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 
steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 
disposal in violation of this permit which has a reasonable 
likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 
environment.  

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not 
be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it 
would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted 
activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions 
of this permit.  

U. Bypass.  

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste 
streams from any portion of a treatment facility. The 
permittee may allow any bypass to occur which does not 
cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also 
is for essential maintenance to ensure efficient operation. 
These bypasses are not subject to the provisions of Part II 
U 2 and U 3.  

2. Notice.  

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 
of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, 
if possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass.  

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit 
notice of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I.  

3. Prohibition of bypass.  

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 
enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, 
unless:  

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage;  

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, 
such as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention 
of untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal 
periods of equipment downtime. This condition is not 
satisfied if adequate back-up equipment should have 
been installed in the exercise of reasonable engineering 
judgment to prevent a bypass which occurred during 
normal periods of equipment downtime or preventive 
maintenance; and  

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under 
Part II U 2.  
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b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 
considering its adverse effects, if the board determines 
that it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 
a.  

V. Upset.  

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 
brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 
effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are 
met. A determination made during administrative review of 
claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and 
before an action for noncompliance, is not a final 
administrative action subject to judicial review.  

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 
defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly 
signed, contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant 
evidence that:  

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 
the cause(s) of the upset;  

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 
operated;  

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 
in Part II I; and  

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 
required under Part II S.  

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 
establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of 
proof.  

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 
director, or an authorized representative, upon presentation of 
credentials and other documents as may be required by law, 
to:  

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 
facility or activity is located or conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;  

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any 
records that must be kept under the conditions of this 
permit;  

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 
operations regulated or required under this permit; and  

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 
of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized 
by the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 
any substances or parameters at any location.  

For purposes of this subsection, the time for inspection shall 
be deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 
whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained 

herein shall make an inspection unreasonable during an 
emergency.  

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 
reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by 
the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and 
reissuance, or termination, or a notification of planned 
changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any 
permit condition.  

Y. Transfer of permits.  

1. Permits are not transferable to any person except after 
notice to the department. Except as provided in Part II Y 2, 
a permit may be transferred by the permittee to a new 
owner or operator only if the permit has been modified or 
revoked and reissued, or a minor modification made, to 
identify the new permittee and incorporate such other 
requirements as may be necessary under the State Water 
Control Law and the Clean Water Act.  

2. As an alternative to transfers under Part II Y 1, this 
permit may be automatically transferred to a new permittee 
if:  

a. The current permittee notifies the department at least 
within 30 days in advance of the proposed transfer of the 
title to the facility or property;  

b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 
existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 
transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 
between them; and  

c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 
the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 
revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not 
received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 
the agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 b.  

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable. 
If any provision of this permit or the application of any 
provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, 
the application of such provision to other circumstances and 
the remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R11-2742; Filed April 17, 2012, 9:07 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth 
Transportation Board is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 
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B 4 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations 
relating to grants of state or federal funds or property. 

Titles of Regulations: 24VAC30-450. Airport Access 
Program (repealing 24VAC30-450-10 through 24VAC30-
450-40). 

24VAC30-451. Airport Access Fund Policy (adding 
24VAC30-451-10, 24VAC30-451-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.1-12 and 33.1-221 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 7, 2012.  

Agency Contact: William R. Dandridge, Program 
Administration Specialist III, Local Assistance Division, 
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 233219, telephone (804) 786-2743, or email 
william.dandridge@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The new Airport Access Fund Policy regulation 
(24VAC30-451) increases the maximum amount of 
unmatched funding from $300,000 to $500,000, updates 
the content to be consistent with that of the Economic 
Development Access Fund Policy (24VAC30-271), and 
directs the Highway Commissioner to establish 
administrative procedures for the use of airport access 
funds. The increase in the maximum unmatched funding is 
consistent with funding limitation already prescribed for 
access road projects administered under the Economic 
Development Access Fund Policy. The new regulation 
replaces the Airport Access Program (24VAC30-450). 

CHAPTER 451 
AIRPORT ACCESS FUND POLICY 

24VAC30-451-10. Purpose. 

This chapter describes the conditions set by the 
Commonwealth Transportation Board governing the use of 
funds for the construction or improvement of access roads to 
public use airports within the counties, cities, and towns of 
the Commonwealth pursuant to § 33.1-221 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

24VAC30-451-20. General provisions. 

A. The program for implementation of this policy and the 
funding available for this program shall be designated 
respectively as the Airport Access Roads Program and 
Airport Access Fund. 

B. The use of airport access funds shall be limited to 
assisting in the financing of adequate access to a licensed, 
public use airport. Termination of access to a licensed, public 
use airport shall be at the property line of the airport. 

C. No cost incurred prior to this board's approval of the 
allocation of airport access funds may be reimbursed by such 

funds. Airport access funds shall be authorized only upon 
confirmation that the licensed airport facility is already 
constructed or will be built under firm contract or upon 
provision of acceptable surety in accordance with § 33.1-221 
A of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Airport access funds shall be used only for the design and 
construction of the roadway, including preliminary 
environmental review and standard drainage and storm water 
facilities required solely by construction of the road. Airport 
access funds shall not be used for the acquisition of rights of 
way, the adjustment of utilities, or the attainment of necessary 
environmental permits. 

E. Eligible items in the design and construction of an airport 
access road shall be limited to those essential for providing an 
adequate roadway facility to serve the anticipated traffic 
generated by the airport's operations with adherence to all 
appropriate Commonwealth Transportation Board and state 
policies and standards. However, additional pavement width 
or other features may be eligible where necessary to qualify 
the road facility in a city or town for maintenance payments 
under § 33.1-41.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The governing body of a city, county, or town in which 
the proposed airport access road is located shall serve as the 
applicant and submit a formal resolution to request airport 
access funds from this board. A town whose streets are 
maintained under either § 33.1-79 or 33.1-82 of the Code of 
Virginia shall file the application through the governing body 
of the county in which it is located. The resolution of request 
shall include commitments to provide for the rights of way, 
adjustment of utilities, and necessary environmental permits 
for the project from funds other than airport access funds 
allocated by this board. 

G. Not more than $650,000 ($500,000 unmatched and 
$150,000 matched dollar for dollar) of the airport access 
funds may be used in any fiscal year to provide access to any 
one airport. Local matching funds shall be provided from 
funds other than those administered by this board. 

H. It is the intent of the Commonwealth Transportation 
Board that airport access funds not be anticipated from year 
to year. Unused eligibility cannot be allowed to accumulate 
and be carried forward from one fiscal year to another. 

I. Prior to the formal request for the use of airport access 
funds, the location for the new access road shall be submitted 
for approval by the Virginia Department of Transportation.  

J. The board will consult with, and may rely on, the 
recommendations of the Virginia Department of Aviation in 
determining the use of these airport access funds for a 
requested project. 

K. Airport access funds may be authorized only after all 
contingencies of the Commonwealth Transportation Board's 
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allocation of funding to the project have been met for airport 
access. 

L. The Commissioner of Highways is directed to establish 
administrative procedures to assure adherence to and 
compliance with the provisions of this chapter and legislative 
directives. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3165; Filed April 13, 2012, 1:02 p.m.  



GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-110, Rules and 
Regulations Pertaining to a Pound or Enclosure to be 
Maintained by Each County or City, and determined that 
this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 
publishing its report of findings dated April 2, 2012, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation establishes criteria for the construction, 
maintenance, and operation of animal pounds by local 
governments. It is limited in scope to these public facilities. 
Therefore, the regulation has no impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Daniel Kovich, DVM, MPH, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, or email 
dan.kovich@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-205, Rules and 
Regulations Pertaining to Shooting Enclosures, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings dated 
March 30, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation is not expected to have a significant economic 
impact on small business. There is currently only one licensed 
shooting enclosure in the Commonwealth. There is a 
continued need for the regulation in order to protect animals 
kept in this shooting enclosure. The regulation itself is not 
complex, and the only potential impacts on a small business 
would be the required adherence to health and welfare 
requirements associated with being a licensed shooting 
enclosure as well as the license fee. The regulation does 
duplicate some of the state laws found in §§ 3.2-6035 through 
3.2-6042 of the Code of Virginia, but the regulation is 
required to be adopted in § 3.2-6039 to carry out the 
provisions of the Code. The regulation was last reviewed in 
2000, with the result at that time being to remain as is. 
Consistent with the stated objectives of this law, this 
regulation should be maintained. 

Contact Information: Dr. Charlie Broaddus, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 
371-2380, or email charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-230, Rules and 
Regulations Applicable to Controlled Atmosphere (CA) 
Apples, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services is publishing its report of 
findings dated April 4, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

The regulation will have a minimal impact on small 
businesses. The agency is recommending that the regulation 
should remain in effect without change. The regulation 
promotes the welfare of citizens by making available to the 
public better quality fruit throughout the year, and it provides 
equitable pricing for fruit producers and sellers. No comments 
or complaints were received during the public comment 
period. The regulation does not duplicate any state or federal 
laws or regulations. The regulation is not overly complex. 
The agency has determined that no changes have occurred in 
the area affected by this regulation since the last periodic 
review that would make it necessary to amend or repeal the 
regulation. The agency believes the current version of the 
regulation is the least burdensome and least intrusive 
alternative for the apple industry and small businesses.  

Contact Information: Thomas H. Smith, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3548, FAX (804) 
371-7785, or email thomas.smmith@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-250, Rules and 
Regulations Relating to Grain Dealer Licensing and 
Bonding Law, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Virginia Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services is publishing its report of 
findings dated April 5, 2012, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia.  

Because the selling of grain in Virginia is tremendously 
important to the state's economy, there is a continued need for 
this regulation. The agency has determined that this 
regulation is effective in achieving its goals of protecting 
Virginia farmers against loss when selling their grain. No 
complaints or comments were received during the public 
comment period. The regulation does not conflict with state 
or federal law. The regulation is not overly complex. The 
agency has determined that no change occurred in the area 
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affected by the regulation subsequent to the agency's previous 
periodic review that would necessitate the amendment or 
repeal of this regulation. This regulation is still very 
important in ensuring fair and prompt payment for grain 
transactions between buyer and seller. 

Contact Information: William R. Sanford, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3939, FAX (804) 
371-0247, or email randy.sanford@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-370, Rules and 
Regulations for Enforcement of the Virginia Animal 
Remedies Law, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings 
dated April 10, 2012, to support this decision in accordance 
with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation has a minimal economic impact on small 
businesses. The provisions of this regulation establish general 
requirements that are consistent with current industry 
practices and that are not unnecessarily burdensome. The 
agency has determined that this regulation should be retained 
in order to continue to protect public health, safety, and 
welfare. The agency has not received any complaints or 
comments from the public concerning this regulation. The 
agency has determined that this regulation is not 
unnecessarily complex and that the complexity of this 
regulation is not such that it would have an economic impact 
on small businesses. This regulation does not overlap, 
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 
The agency has determined that no change in the animal 
remedy industry has occurred subsequent to the agency's 
previous periodic review of this regulation that would 
necessitate the amendment or repeal of this regulation. 

Contact Information: Erin Williams, Policy Coordinator, 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 
1163, Richmond, VA 23218, (804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 
371-7479, or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-380, Rules and 
Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Dealers 
in Agricultural Products Law, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is 
publishing its report of findings dated April 10, 2012, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

The provisions of this regulation establish notice and written 
receipt requirements and are not unnecessarily burdensome. 
The agency has determined that this regulation should be 
retained in order to continue to protect producers of 
agricultural produce and public health, safety, and welfare. 
The agency has not received any complaints or comments 
from the public concerning this regulation. The agency has 
determined that this regulation is not unnecessarily complex 
and that the complexity of this regulation is not such that it 
would have an economic impact on small businesses. 

The federal Perishable Agricultural Commodities Act (7 USC 
§ 499 et seq.) (Act) requires any person who buys or sells 
more than 2,000 pounds of fresh or frozen fruits and 
vegetables in any given day to be licensed. Rules and 
Regulations for the Enforcement of the Virginia Dealers in 
Agricultural Products Law (2VAC5-380) does not appear to 
overlap, duplicate, or conflict with the requirements of the 
Act or with any other federal or state law or regulation. The 
agency has determined that no change in the affected industry 
has occurred subsequent to the agency's previous periodic 
review of this regulation that would necessitate the 
amendment or repeal of this regulation. 

Contact Information: Erin Williams, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1308, FAX (804) 
371-7479, or email erin.williams@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-600, Regulations 
Pertaining to Food for Human Consumption, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services is publishing its report of findings dated 
March 30, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for this regulation. This regulation 
is necessary for the protection of the health, safety, and 
welfare of citizens in the Commonwealth. Without a specific 
regulation governing multiple commodities, multiple 
processes, pesticides in foods, and food additives as well as 
sanitary requirements for food establishments, there is no way 
to provide an appropriate level of food safety oversight for 
the various food products and food product processes that are 
prepared, held, and sold to consumers in Virginia.  

This regulation is not complex. However, it does provide 
appropriate guidance and the requirements necessary to 
ensure that consumers in Virginia purchase and consume safe 
food products. Since this regulation adopts provisions of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (Title 21), it is duplicative of 
existing federal regulations. However, enforcement of the 
regulatory requirements for food establishments, food 
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products, and food processes within Virginia's boundaries lies 
primarily with the Commonwealth, not the federal 
government. Enforcement of this regulation is appropriate 
and necessary to ensure the proper level of food safety within 
the Commonwealth. No comments or complaints were 
received concerning the regulation during the public comment 
period. Technology and economic conditions have changed 
minimally since the adoption and evaluation of this 
regulation. This regulation provides basic, essential 
requirements for food establishments, food commodities, and 
food processes, while simultaneously minimizing the 
economic impact on small businesses. This regulation should 
remain in effect without change.  

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Department of Agriculture 
and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, or 
email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services conducted 
a small business impact review of 2VAC5-210, Rules and 
Regulations Pertaining to Meat and Poultry Inspection 
Under the Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection 
Act, and determined that this regulation should be retained in 
its current form. The Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Service is publishing its report of findings dated 
April 3, 2012, to support this decision in accordance with 
§ 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

There is a continued need for this regulation. The regulation 
is designed to ensure a safe, wholesome, and truthfully 
labeled supply of meat and poultry products for the citizens of 
the Commonwealth. Meat and poultry products support the 
growth of human disease producing organisms. These 
products must be produced under controlled conditions to 
prevent food borne illness. This regulation has been effective. 
To date, there have been no reported outbreaks of food borne 
illness attributed to meat and poultry products produced in 
Virginia-inspected plants. No comments or complaints were 
received concerning this regulation during the public 
comment period. 

This regulation is necessary to comply with the Federal Meat 
Inspection Act and the Poultry Products Inspection Act, 
which allow Virginia to operate an intrastate Meat and 
Poultry Program. Virginia is one of eight states that operates 
a Talmadge-Aiken (T/A) program, which allows Virginia 
inspectors to provide inspection service to federal interstate 
plants. 

The Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Poultry Products 
Inspection Act that the regulation adopts are very complex. 

The state Office of Meat and Poultry Services (OMPS) 
receives numerous questions and calls for assistance from 
plant operators and from persons interested in starting a meat 
or poultry business. OMPS provides guidance to these mainly 
small businesses in order to help them understand and comply 
with all regulatory requirements.  

This regulation adopts the provisions of the Federal Meat 
Inspection Act and the Poultry Products Inspection Act. If 
there were no Virginia Meat and Poultry Program, the federal 
government would "designate" the state, which means the 
federal government would take charge of all meat and poultry 
inspection in the state. The requirements on small businesses 
would not change. However, the inspections would be 
performed by federal inspectors.  

The federal statutory requirements change regularly and 
Virginia is required to adopt these changes as they occur. 
Virginia has the option to adopt requirements that are more 
stringent than those of the federal government but cannot 
reduce or remove any existing requirement.  

Economic conditions have little effect on this regulation, 
since there is no fee for inspection service. The ability of 
technology to detect food safety hazards has the greatest 
impact on this regulation. As new pathogens are determined 
to be adulterants in meat or poultry products, more product or 
environmental tests may be required of inspected businesses. 
The businesses normally pass this cost on to their customers. 

This regulation should remain in effect. This regulation 
allows small businesses in Virginia the opportunity to 
produce and sell meat and poultry products both intrastate 
and, through the T/A program, across state lines while 
working with Virginia state employees.  

Contact Information: Richard Hackenbracht, DVM, Program 
Manager, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 
P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-
4569, FAX (804) 371-7792, or email 
richard.hackenbracht@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 
impact review of 9VAC5-40, Existing Stationary Sources, 
and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
current form. The State Air Pollution Control Board is 
publishing its report of findings dated November 7, 2011, to 
support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of 
the Code of Virginia. 

These regulations continue to be needed. They provide 
sources with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 
ongoing state and federal requirements that protect air quality. 
The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 
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that the regulated entities are able to meet their legal 
mandates as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. The 
regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 
state law or other state regulation. The regulations were last 
reviewed as follows: 2001 (Articles 2 and 15), 2002 (Article 
8), 2003 (Article 54), 2004 (Articles 43 and 47), 2005 
(Article 46), 2006 (Part I, Articles 4, 37, 48, and 53), and 
2007 (Article 52). Since these prior reviews, it has generally 
become less expensive to characterize, measure, and mitigate 
the regulated pollutants that contribute to poor air quality. 
This regulation continues to provide the most efficient and 
cost-effective means to determine the level and impact of 
excess emissions and to control those excess emissions. The 
department, through examination of the regulations and 
relevant public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
emission control regulations on small businesses and thereby 
minimize the impact on existing and potential Virginia 
employers and their ability to maintain and increase the 
number of jobs in the Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. 
Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, 
FAX (804) 698-4346, or email 
cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 
impact review of 9VAC5-50, New and Modified Stationary 
Sources, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board is publishing its report of findings dated November 7, 
2011, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

These regulations continue to be needed. They provide 
sources with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 
ongoing state and federal requirements that protect air quality. 
The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 
that the regulated entities are able to meet their legal 
mandates as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. The 
regulations do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 
state law or other state regulation. The regulations were last 
reviewed as follows: 2001 (Articles 2 and 6), and 2006 (Part I 
and Article 4). Since these prior reviews, it has gotten 
generally less expensive to characterize, measure, and 
mitigate the regulated pollutants that contribute to poor air 
quality. This regulation continues to provide the most 
efficient and cost-effective means to determine the level and 
impact of excess emissions and to control those excess 
emissions. The department, through examination of the 
regulations and relevant public comments, has determined 
that the regulatory requirements currently minimize the 
economic impact of emission control regulations on small 

businesses and thereby minimize the impact on existing and 
potential Virginia employers and their ability to maintain and 
increase the number of jobs in the Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. 
Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, 
FAX (804) 698-4346, or email 
cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 
impact review of 9VAC5-70, Air Pollution Episode 
Prevention, and determined that this regulation should be 
retained in its current form. The State Air Pollution Control 
Board is publishing its report of findings dated November 7, 
2011, to support this decision in accordance with § 2.2-
4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
and federal requirements that protect air quality. The 
regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 
the regulated entities are able to meet their legal mandates as 
efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. This regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any state law or 
other state regulation. This regulation was last reviewed in 
2001. In that time, it has gotten generally less expensive to 
characterize, measure, and mitigate the regulated pollutants 
that contribute to poor air quality. This regulation continues 
to provide the most efficient and cost-effective means to 
determine the level and impact of excess emissions and to 
control those excess emissions. The department, through 
examination of the regulation and relevant public comments, 
has determined that the regulatory requirements currently 
minimize the economic impact of emission control 
regulations on small businesses and thereby minimize the 
impact on existing and potential Virginia employers and their 
ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth.  

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. 
Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, 
FAX (804) 698-4346, or email 
cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State 
Air Pollution Control Board conducted a small business 
impact review of 9VAC5-510, Nonmetallic Mineral 
Processing General Permit, and determined that this 
regulation should be retained in its current form. The State 
Air Pollution Control Board is publishing its report of 
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findings dated November 7, 2011, to support this decision in 
accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of Virginia. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
and federal requirements that protect air quality. The 
regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 
the regulated entities are able to meet their legal mandates as 
efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. As previously 
mentioned, the regulation embodies regulatory provisions 
found elsewhere in the air regulatory program; Article 14 
(Sand and Gravel Processing Operations and Stone Quarrying 
and Processing Operations) of 9VAC5-40 via the state 
operating permit program and Article 5 (Environmental 
Protection Agency Standards of Performance for New 
Stationary Sources) of 9VAC5-50 via the minor NSR 
program. This regulation may reduce costs for manufacturers 
and in most cases has a beneficial impact by lowering the 
permitting costs to the regulated entity. By choosing to take a 
minor NSR general permit over a conventional minor NSR 
permit, the applicant: (i) is able to receive the permit faster, 
(ii) avoids the time consuming application process, and (iii) 
avoids the uncertainty associated with having to negotiate and 
accept a new BACT determination that may likely result in 
more stringent requirements than the general permit.  

This regulation has not been reviewed since it was originally 
promulgated in 2002. In that time, it has generally become 
less expensive to characterize, measure, and mitigate the 
regulated pollutants that contribute to poor air quality. This 
regulation continues to provide the most efficient and cost-
effective means to determine the level and impact of excess 
emissions and to control those excess emissions. The 
department, through examination of the regulation and 
relevant public comments, has determined that the regulatory 
requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 
emission control regulations on small businesses and thereby 
minimize the impact on existing and potential Virginia 
employers and their ability to maintain and increase the 
number of jobs in the Commonwealth.  

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 E. Main St., P.O. 
Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, 
FAX (804) 698-4346, or email 
cindy.berndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION  

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Total Maximum Daily Load Studies for Holmes Run 
and Tripps Run 

Announcement of total maximum daily load (TMDL) studies 
to restore water quality in portions of Holmes Run and Tripps 
Run that have an aquatic life use impairment. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) and the Virginia Department of Conservation 
and Recreation (DCR) announce the first Technical Advisory 
Committee (TAC) meeting to introduce the Holmes Run and 
Tripps Run benthic TMDL studies. 

Technical advisory committee meeting: Thursday, May 24, 
2012, 1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m., Thomas Jefferson Library, 
Meeting Room 2, 7415 Arlington Boulevard, Falls Church, 
VA 22042. 

Meeting description: This is the first meeting to introduce 
these TMDL projects to the TAC. The purpose of the TAC 
will be to provide technical input and insight for the project, 
and to assist with stakeholder and public participation. 

Description of study: Portions of Holmes Run and Tripps Run 
have been identified as impaired on the Clean Water Act 
§ 303(d) list for not supporting Virginia's water quality 
aquatic life use standard due to poor health of the benthic 
macroinvertebrate communities. Virginia agencies are 
working to identify the benthic stressors causing the aquatic 
life use impairments in Holmes Run and Tripps Run. Below 
is a description of the impaired portions of Holmes Run and 
Tripps Run that will be addressed in this study: 

Stream 
Name 

Location Impairment 
Area  

(miles) 
Upstream 

Limit 

Down-
stream 
Limit 

Holmes 
Run 

Fairfax 
County 

Aquatic Life 
Use Benthic 
Macroinver-

tebrates 

5.78 

Head-
waters of 
Holmes 

Run 

Start of 
Lake 

Barcroft 

Tripps 
Run 

Falls 
Church 
Fairfax 
County 

Aquatic Life 
Use Benthic 
Macroinver-

tebrates 

2.24 

Head-
waters of 

Tripps 
Run 

Start of 
Lake 

Barcroft 

During this study, DEQ will develop a TMDL for each of the 
impaired stream segments. A TMDL is the total amount of a 
pollutant a water body can receive and still meet water quality 
standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels have to be 
reduced to the TMDL allocated amount. 

How to comment: The public comment period on the 
materials presented at the TAC meeting will extend from May 
24, 2012, to June 25, 2012. DEQ accepts written comments 
by email, FAX, or postal mail. Written comments should 
include the name, address, and telephone number of the 
person commenting, and be received by DEQ during the 
comment period. Please send all comments to the contact 
listed below. 

Contact for additional information: Jennifer Carlson, 
Department of Environmental Quality, 13901 Crown Court, 
Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-3859, email 
jennifer.carlson@deq.virginia.gov.  
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Development of a Water Quality Improvement Plan 
(Implementation Plan) for Impaired Shellfish Waters 

in Mathews, Middlesex, and Gloucester Counties 

The Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) and 
the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seek written 
and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of an Implementation Plan (IP) for impaired 
shellfish waters, located in Mathews, Middlesex, and 
Gloucester Counties, Virginia. The nine tidal shellfish waters 
that feed into the Piankatank River and Milford Haven 
(Queens, Stutts, Morris, Billups, Edwards, Harper, Wilton, 
Healy, and Cobbs) and a portion of the Upper Piankatank 
River are on the state's list of dirty or impaired waters. The 
shellfish harvesting in these waters has been restricted due to 
excessive bacteria levels. The total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) studies for these waters can be found on the DEQ 
website at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/ 
WaterQualityInformationTMDLs.aspx under the "Approved 
TMDL Reports" section as: pianka.pdf, pianharp.pdf, and 
gwynnisl.pdf. 

Actions to restore water quality in these impaired tidal creeks 
will be the subject of a meeting to be held May 23, 2012, 
from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. at the Middlesex Family YMCA, 
11487 General Puller Highway, Hartfield, Virginia. At this 
meeting, TMDL findings and the development of the 
implementation plan will be discussed and citizens will learn 
how they can be part of the public participation process. DCR 
seeks information and involvement of local citizens in 
developing this plan. After a one-hour public meeting, 
stakeholders will break into working group sessions to 
discuss and provide input for the implementation plan.  

The 30-day public comment period on the information 
presented at the meeting will end on June 22, 2012. Questions 
or information requests should be addressed to May Sligh, 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, Tappahannock 
Field Office, telephone (804) 443-1494, or email 
may.sligh@dcr.virginia.gov. The written comments and 
inquiries should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments and should be 
sent to May Sligh, Department of Conservation and 
Recreation, Tappahannock Regional Office, P.O. Box 1425, 
Tappahannock, VA 22560. 

Total Maximum Daily Load Implementation Plan for 
North Fork Rockfish River, South Fork Rockfish 

River, Rockfish River, and Taylor Creek Watersheds 
in Nelson County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR) seek 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plans (IPs) for the North Fork Rockfish 
River, South Fork Rockfish River, Rockfish River, and 

Taylor Creek watersheds in Nelson County. The tributaries of 
the Rockfish River were listed on the 2004 and 2006 § 303(d) 
TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations 
of the state's water quality standard for bacteria; in addition, 
Taylor Creek was listed in 2008 as impaired due to violations 
of the state's general water quality standard (benthic) for 
aquatic life. The bacteria impairment on the North Fork 
Rockfish River begins in the headwaters and extends 7.2 
miles to its confluence with the Rockfish River. The South 
Fork Rockfish River bacterial impairment extends 11.6 miles 
from its headwaters to its confluence with the mainstem 
Rockfish River. The bacteria impairment on the Rockfish 
River extends from the confluence of its North and South 
Forks to its confluence with Davis Creek, which is a total of 
6.5 miles. The benthic impairment on Taylor's Creek extends 
five miles from its headwaters to the confluence with North 
Fork Perry Creek. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 
Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. In 
addition, § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires 
the development of an IP for approved TMDLs. The IP 
should provide measurable goals and the date of expected 
achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 
include the corrective actions needed and their associated 
costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

The third public meeting on the development of these 
TMDLs and IPs will be held during the Rockfish Valley 
Watershed Improvement Plan community meeting on 
Wednesday, May 16, 2012, 7 p.m. at Rockfish Valley 
Community Center, 190 Rockfish School Lane, Afton, VA 
22920. The IP document will be available on the DEQ 
website the day of the meeting for public comment and 
review: http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/Water 
QualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/Draf
tTMDLReports.aspx. 

The public comment period for the IP will end on June 18, 
2012. Written comments should include the name, address, 
and telephone number of the person submitting the comments 
and should be sent to Tara Sieber, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, 
Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone (540) 574-7870, FAX 
(540) 574-7878, or email tara.sieber@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 
Department of Corrections conducted a small business impact 
review of 6VAC15-45, Regulations for Private 
Management and Operation of Prison Facilities, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its 
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current form. The Department of Corrections is publishing its 
report of findings dated September 8, 2011, to support this 
decision in accordance with § 2.2-4007.1 G of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 E and F, the Department of 
Corrections has considered the economic impact of regulation 
6VAC15-45 on small business. The Department of 
Corrections has determined (i) there is continued need for the 
regulation based on legal mandate; (ii) the complexity of the 
regulation is appropriate to the subject matter; (iii) the 
regulation does not significantly overlap, duplicate, or 
conflict with federal or state law or regulation; and (iv) there 
have been no significant changes in technology, economic 
conditions, or other factors in the area affected by the 
regulation. The Department of Corrections has determined 
that there is no need for the regulation to be amended or 
repealed, consistent with the stated objectives of applicable 
law, to minimize the economic impact of regulations on small 
businesses. 

Contact Information: James G. Bruce, Jr., Agency Regulatory 
Coordinator, Department of Corrections, 6900 Atmore Dr., 
Richmond, VA 23225, telephone (804) 674-3303, FAX (804) 
674-3017, or email james.bruce@vadoc.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Draft Water Quality Restoration Study and 
Implementation Planning for the Chickahominy 
River and Tributaries Impaired for Bacteria in 
Hanover, Henrico, Charles City, and New Kent 

Counties and the City of Richmond 

Public meeting: Mechanicsville Branch Library, 7461 
Sherwood Crossing Place, Mechanicsville, Virginia 23111. 
Public meetings will be held on Thursday, May 24, 2012, at 
2 p.m. and 6 p.m. Both meetings are open to the public. 
Afternoon and evening meetings will cover the same material. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) is announcing a draft total maximum daily 
load (TMDL) study to restore water quality and the initiation 
of the implementation plan for waterbodies mentioned above.  

Meeting description: Public meetings provide an opportunity 
for the public to share their knowledge of the watershed and 
learn about pollution affecting community waters. Meetings 
will feature a summary of information from the draft TMDL, 
including watershed land use, water quality monitoring, 
suspected sources of bacteria, and the reduction of source 
bacteria required to meet water quality standards and will also 
feature an introduction of implementation planning (IP) for 
the watershed. Those attending the meeting are invited to ask 
questions, contribute their knowledge of the watershed, and 
participate in the working groups as part of the IP phase. 

Description of study: Virginia agencies have been working to 
identify sources of the bacteria waters of the Chickahominy 
River and its tributaries:  

Stream County/City Length 
(mi.) 

Impairment 

Stony Run Hanover 0.21 
Beaverdam 
Creek 

Hanover 6.69 

Chickahominy 
River 

Henrico, 
Hanover 

7.54 

Boatswain Creek Hanover 3.76 

Collins Run 
Charles City 
County 

4.50 

Bacteria 
(primary 
contact/ 

swimming 
use) 

These streams are impaired for failure to meet the primary 
contact (recreational or swimming) designated use due to 
bacteria. The study reports on the sources of bacteria and 
recommends TMDLs for impaired waters. A TMDL is the 
total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and still 
meet water quality standards. To restore water quality, 
bacterial levels need to be reduced to the TMDL amount. The 
draft TMDL report will be available at 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn
formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLDevelopment/DraftTMDLR
eports.aspx one week prior to the meeting for review. The IP 
phase utilizes the source information and reductions 
necessary to meet water quality standards in order to devise a 
series of watershed measures, known as best management 
practices (BMPs). BMPs can be implemented throughout the 
watershed in order to meet the TMDL bacteria reduction 
goals. The IP phase requires the participation of watershed 
stakeholders at "working group" meetings to evaluate BMPs 
for the watersheds and the participation of a steering 
committee, made up of working group members, to guide the 
process. 

How a decision is made: After the public meeting and all 
public comments have been considered and addressed, DEQ 
will submit the final TMDL report to the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency and the State Water Control Board for 
approval. When the IP report is eventually completed, 
following working group and steering committee meetings, 
draft review, and final public meeting and comment period, it 
will be provided to the State Water Control Board for 
approval. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
FAX, or postal mail. Written comments should include your 
name, address, and telephone number and be received by 
DEQ during the comment period, which will begin on Friday, 
May 25, 2012, and end on Monday, June 25, 2012. 

Contact for additional information: Margaret Smigo, TMDL 
Coordinator, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 
23060, telephone (804) 527-5124, FAX (804) 527-5106, or 
email margaret.smigo@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Implementation Plan in Hoffler Creek; Cities of 
Suffolk and Portsmouth 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 
will host a public meeting on a water quality study for Hoffler 
Creek, located in the Cities of Suffolk and Portsmouth, on 
Monday, May 14, 2012. 

The meeting will start at 6:30 p.m. in the Northern Shores 
Elementary School located at 6701 Respass Beach Road, 
Suffolk, Virginia. The purpose of the meeting is to provide 
information and discuss the study with interested local 
community members and local government.  

Hoffler Creek (VAT-G15E_HOF01A06) was identified in 
Virginia's Water Quality Assessment Integrated Report as 
impaired for not supporting the primary contact use. The 
impairment is based on water quality monitoring data reports 
of sufficient exceedances of Virginia's water quality standard 
for bacteria.  

The meeting will review the final Implementation Plan (IP) 
for the impaired water. The IP is developed to provide a clean 
up plan that will lead to attainment of the water quality 
standards. Public participation and stakeholder involvement 
are necessary in order to develop an effective and reasonable 
IP. This meeting will present the findings of the TMDL study 
and the necessary steps in the IP development. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia require DEQ to develop total 
maximum daily loads (TMDL) for pollutants responsible for 
each impaired water contained in Virginia's 303(d) TMDL 
Priority List and Report and subsequent Water Quality 
Assessment Reports. A TMDL is the total amount of a 
pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, pollutant levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. The TMDL report 
has been approved by EPA (Dec 14, 2011) and can be found 
at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl/apptmdls/jamesrvr/ 
hofflerec.pdf. 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 
meeting will extend from May 15, 2012, to June 13, 2012. 
For additional information or to submit comments, contact 
Jennifer Howell, Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Blvd., Virginia 
Beach, VA 23462, telephone (757) 518-2111, or email 
jennifer.howell@deq.virginia.gov.  

STATE LOTTERY DEPARTMENT 

Director's Orders 

The following Director's Orders of the State Lottery 
Department were filed with the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations on April 10, 2012, April 11, 2012, and April 12, 
2012. The orders may be viewed at the State Lottery 
Department, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, VA, or at the 

office of the Registrar of Regulations, 910 Capitol Street, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, VA. 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Seven (12) 

"Buy $10 Worth of Scratch Tickets/Get a $1.00 Scratch 
Ticket Free Chain Promotion – Wilco and Slip In" Virginia 
Lottery Retailer Incentive Program Rules (effective April 12, 
2012 and shall remain in full force and effect until ninety (90) 
days after the conclusion of the Incentive Program, unless 
otherwise extended by the Director) 

Director's Order Number Thirty-Eight (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1310; "Golden 7" Final Rules 
for Game Operation (effective April 12, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Forty-One (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1336; "Grills Gone Wild" 
Final Rules for Game Operation (effective April 12, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Two (12) 

Virginia Lottery's "Grills Gone Wild Scratcher Summer 
Sizzler Sweepstakes" Final Rules for Game Operation 
(effective April 12, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Five (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1314; "Triple 777" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective April 10, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Six (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1315; "Lucky Gold" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective April 10, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Seven (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1328; "Jewel 7'S" Final Rules 
for Game Operation (effective April 12, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Eight (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1337; "7 11 21®" Final Rules 
for Game Operation (effective April 10, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Forty-Nine (12) 

Virginia's Instant Game Lottery 1344; "Win It All" Final 
Rules for Game Operation (effective April 10, 2012) 

Director's Order Number Fifty (12) 

Virginia Lottery's Summer Grill-Off Contest" Final Rules for 
Game Operation (effective April 10, 2012) 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Bundick Well and 
Pump Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Bundick Well 
and Pump Company for alleged violations of the State Water 
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Control Law at the Bundick Southern Septage Lagoon located 
in Painter, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Mr. Robin 
Schuhmann will accept comments by email at 
robin.schuhmann@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (757) 518-2009, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 7, 2012, to June 6, 
2012. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the City of 
Chesapeake 

An enforcement action has been proposed for City of 
Chesapeake for violations regarding the Lake Gaston Water 
Treatment Plant Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination 
System Permit No. VA0091405. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. John M. Brandt will accept comments 
by email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 7, 2012, to June 6, 
2012. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Coastal Precast 
Systems, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Coastal Precast 
Systems, LLC, for alleged violations of the Virginia Pollutant 
Discharge Elimination General Permit at its precast concrete 
facility at 1320 Yacht Drive, City of Chesapeake. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 
online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Paul R. Smith will accept 
comments by email at paul.smith@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 
(757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 
Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 
Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 7, 
2012, to June 6, 2012. 

Proposed Consent Order for Gunston Elementary 
School Sewage Treatment Plant 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Fairfax 
County School Board for alleged violations in Fairfax County 
at the Gunston Elementary School Sewage Treatment Plant 
(STP). The amendment to order by consent describes a 
settlement to revise certain provisions of order by consent 
issued on June 22, 2010, and to resolve permit effluent 
violations at the STP. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel 
Burstein will accept comments by email at 
daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (703) 583-3821, or 

postal mail, Department of Environmental Quality, Northern 
Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 
22193, from May 8, 2012, through June 7, 2012. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Hampton 
Roads Sanitation District 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Hampton 
Roads Sanitation District and the Cities of Chesapeake, 
Hampton, Newport News, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, 
Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg; the Counties of 
Gloucester, Isle of Wight, and York; the James River Service 
Authority; and the Town of Smithfield to amend a Special 
Order by Consent which addresses sanitary sewer overflows 
in the Hampton Roads region. A description of the proposed 
action is available at the Department of Environmental 
Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. Maria R. Nold will accept comments 
by email at maria.nold@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (757) 518-
2009, or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 7, 2012, to June 6, 
2012. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the City of 
Newport News 

An enforcement action has been proposed for City of 
Newport News for violations regarding significant alteration 
to wetlands located at the corner of Industrial Park Drive and 
Jefferson Avenue. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt 
will accept comments by email at 
john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (757) 518-2009, or 
postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 7, 2012, to June 6, 
2012. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for VA Timberline, 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for VA Timberline, 
LLC, for violations of Virginia Water Protection Permit 
WP4-04-2205 on property adjacent to Lawnes Creek and the 
James River in Isle of Wight County. A description of the 
proposed action is available at the Department of 
Environmental Quality office named below or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. John Brandt will accept comments by 
email at john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX (757) 518-2009, 
or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 
Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 
Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from May 7, 2012, to June 6, 
2012. 
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice (804) 
786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 
varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
http://www.virginia.gov/cmsportal3/cgi-bin/calendar.cgi. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 
repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 
the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 
available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/cumultab.htm. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 
System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 
publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 
Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 
Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 
Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 
complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 
regulatory information. 
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